Stand in the Light by Jordan Smith: A Review

By Lydia Delich

The Herald at Southern Virginia University
The Herald
3 min readFeb 29, 2024

--

Stand in the Light- Jordan Smith

Jordan Smith won season 9 of The Voice. He released his debut album soon after on March 19th, called Something Beautiful and it quickly gained popularity. While I love all of Jordan Smith’s music, the song Stand In The Light, which was the first single from Something Beautiful, has always stood out to me. It’s a song that catches your attention right away. If I had to choose the lyrics that mean the most to me, it would be “This is who I am inside”.

Before I really even grew my testimony of my faith in Jesus Christ, I recognized how much peace this song brought to me. I even sent the song to my middle school choir teacher and asked her if we could sing it at our 7th grade concert. She listened to it and loved it. The day we had our concert, she had us bring our arms out in the part of the song that says “with arms open wide”. I know this allowed the audience to feel the lyrics through us. We weren’t afraid to open our arms as an invitation to truly stand in the light and be seen as we are, even if we felt a little awkward doing it. I believe it’s a song that brings people together with feelings of unity and love, which is hard to do in a world today that can have so much division in it. It’s truly a blessing to have Stand In The Light be my favorite song since middle school.

Whether you are religious or not, this song serves as a reminder that it’s okay to laugh, cry, and own our emotions. It shows that we should cherish the things that make us human and remember that we’re not alone in this world. No one should dictate who we are or aren’t, and we definitely shouldn’t feel compelled to hide our true selves. Stand In The Light inspires us to let go of self-doubt and embrace standing out from the crowd, allowing us to be seen and heard for who we truly are.

The lyrics, “holding our breath as we break through the surface” inspires me to want to ride the waves of the storms and challenges that life throws at us and come out of it with a flashlight, shining the light on all of that darkness. This song illuminates these hopeful messages and can remind us that we can overcome anything that is in our way, as long as we look for the light.

Continuing the theme of strength and resilience, the lyrics, “With courage and kindness hold onto your faith” has helped me to remember that I can be that flashlight and show others Christ’s love, even growing up in a world with people who may not always understand my faith or what I believe in. Sometimes it’s the little positive things that make such an impact on someone and can be so powerful. Similarly, Stand In The Light is so powerful in my opinion because it motivates me to uplift others and see everyone with my heart and not my eyes. I believe that this song can resonate with many people, as it allows us to free ourselves from the judgements of those around us and hold onto our uniqueness.

I hope you will listen to Stand In The Light and experience the encouragement and peaceful feeling that it brings. I give it a 10/10 rating because it is a good song that reflects messages that anyone can relate to, no matter what your personal beliefs are. Listen to it, and I guarantee it will capture your attention right from the first verse.

Jordan Smith — Stand In The Light (Lyric Video)

--

--