Student Body President Will Edwards: 5 tips for a great college experience!

Will Edwards
The Herald
Published in
4 min readOct 12, 2021

By Will Edwards

Hello Knights,

My name is Will Edwards and I am the Student Body President this year at Southern Virginia University. I am a junior from Henderson, Nevada, majoring in Business Administration and Leadership with a minor in Economics. I came to Southern Virginia in the spring of 2019 after I completed my mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in Lima Peru. I have loved my experience at Southern Virginia and I am passionate about helping students have a positive experience here.

So, here are 5 tips to help you create a great experience at Southern Virginia University:

  1. Get involved

There are so many ways to get involved at Southern Virginia University! My favorite memories have been from getting involved with clubs, student government and other school activities. I encourage you to step out of your comfort zone and try attending activities or clubs that are new to you. I never thought that I would enjoy swing dancing or listening to poetry, but thanks to the swing dancing club and the poetry club, I have grown to enjoy both of those things. If there is not a club that interests you, then you can start a club and work with friends to plan some awesome activities!

Another way to get involved is to join a Student Government Committee. By joining a committee, you will be able to assist elected members with planning purposeful events to encompass all aspects of student life and help them have a great experience.

2. Get to know the people you see everyday

I did not come to Southern Virginia to play a sport or to be a part of a music ensemble, and at first I had a hard time meeting people and making friends because of this. I was in a writing class with a couple of students that had also recently returned from their missions, so I asked for their names and made sure to say hi to them every time I saw them in class. This group of returned missionaries ended up being my close friend group at the end of the semester. This experience taught me the value of getting to know the people you see everyday. One of the best things about Southern Virginia is the small size of the school. If you see someone all the time, don’t be afraid to introduce yourself and say hi to them. They might end up becoming one of your best friends.

3. Make a bucket list

Having a vision is an important step before doing anything great. In order to have the best year ever, you need to have a vision. Bucket lists are a great way to put your vision into action. I would suggest that you create a bucket list with a group of friends, and that you keep a physical list somewhere you can all see it. The momentum of the group will help you do all those amazing things and everyone will have tons of fun! I added a couple of suggestions for your bucket list below:

  • Weekend Trip to Washington D.C.
  • Sunrise Hike at McAfee’s Knob
  • Swimming at Panther Falls
  • Mak a trick shot video
  • Watch all the episodes of The Office in one semester

4. Get to know your professor

When you have free time, you should go to the Southern Virginia University website and read the bios of the professors here. They are all super qualified and excellent teachers. When I have made an effort to get to know my professors, my academic experience has been noticeably different. Take advantage of office hours if your professors offer them!

5. Capture the moment

College is supposed to be fun! It is a unique and relatively short time in our lives. We will make memories that we will want to remember for the rest of our lives, so record these memories! Take pictures, make videos, or even write them down in a journal! I love going through all of my pictures and videos and being reminded of all of the fun times I have had so far.

I hope you all have the best experience at Southern Virginia University! If you have any questions, comments, suggestions or would like to join a student committee, please reach out to me at William.c.edwards@svu.edu. I would love to hear from you guys!

GO KNIGHTS!!!!

--

--

Will Edwards
The Herald

This road goes on forever, and the party never ends