Student Highlight: Tanner

Riley Rehl
The Herald
Published in
2 min readFeb 3, 2022

By Riley Rehl

Tanner Gonder (‘24), a sophomore and returned missionary, originates from Delta, Utah.

In case you haven’t had the chance to meet Tanner, here is a little bit about him!

What brought you to Southern Virginia University?

“I came to Southern Virginia University for Sports, specifically soccer.”

What’s something that most people don’t know about you?

“I’m a night owl. I like to stay up late and sleep in.”

How would your friends describe you?

“I’m pretty busy, but full of energy and positivity. I’m always having fun.”

What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever done?

“The coolest thing I’ve ever done is ride a zip line over the Gulf of Mexico.”

What’s your superpower?

“I can easily read people’s emotions.”

What’s your major and how did you choose it?

“I’m a double major in Biochemistry and Business. I’ve always been interested in science so choosing Biochemistry was easy. As for Business, I did sales over the summer and that’s when I realized I also enjoy Business.”

What’s your go-to app distraction?

“My go to app distraction is Pokémon Go, but when I’m at home I enjoy watching Apple TV or Amazon Prime.”

What’s your recipe for the perfect sandwich?

“My recipe for the perfect sandwich is a white or cheese bread base, add bacon, extra cheese, double meat, and of course some veggies.”

Tanner can be spotted in science classes, team weights, and the cafe. If you see Tanner around make sure to give him a wave!

--

--