Sun-Kissed Spring Break: My Florida Memoir

By Natasha LeNeave

Natasha LeNeave
The Herald
3 min readApr 5, 2024

--

For next spring or fall break, I recommend you gather a group of friends together and go to Florida.

Photo Courtesy of Grace Clouser

For my fall break in 2022, I got a group of friends together and visited my in-laws vacation home in Kissimmee, Florida. Our days were filled with reading and hanging out in the pool, enjoying the sun rays on our face, and eating as much shaved ice as possible.

Photos Courtesy of Grace Clouser and Natasha LeNeave

If you visit Florida, I strongly recommend stopping by Bahama Buck’s at least once. They have the most creamy, flavorful, shaved ice concoctions that I have ever had. They have so many flavor combinations and provide a surf inspired shop for you to enjoy your sweet treat.

Photo Courtesy of Bahama Buck’s

My top three menu items at bahama bucks are Strawberry Cheesecake Delight, Oreo Cookie, and Bomb Pop.

Photos Courtesy of Bahama Buck’s

We stayed at my In-laws vacation home that was located within the Reunion Resort and Golf Club. It was beautiful and I definitely recommend checking it out if you have a chance.

At the resort, we had dinner at the Traditions restaurant within the Jack Nicklaus Clubhouse.

Photo Courtesy of Reunion

“The open-air kitchen and upscale tavern setting at Traditions make it a fan favorite! Located within the Nicklaus Clubhouse, Traditions offers a diverse menu of American culinary classics like crispy cheddar cheese curds, buffalo wings, and handmade sandwiches. Friendly, professional service is the icing on the cake.” — Reunion Resort

Taking a break from school and relaxing by the pool with your best friends can calm your stress and give you the opportunity to just live life and make memories.

Photo Courtesy of Natasha LeNeave

On my trip, my friend, Bre, and I brought our film cameras to capture our memories in a fun and different way. They weren’t disposable film cameras. We both are into film photography and I had been taking Analog photography at SVU and took my camera to capture the memories and used the experience for one of my assignments. I later developed the images and I love them.

Photos Courtesy of Canva and Natasha LeNeave

We had a great trip together and definitely made some lasting memories. One memory that I have from the trip was when we took a golf cart ride around the property as the sun was setting. It was beautiful. We took a path that had a lot of palm trees, shrubs, and plants. Next thing we knew, we saw this adorable baby bobcat cross the path. It happened so fast and we were so surprised, but I wish we could have gotten a picture.

Maybe you will take a trip to Florida the next chance you get! However, if you take a trip like this too, don’t let your husband bring the car key back home with you like mine did. Luckily there was a family friend making their way to the same house that day and we were able to run into them in the airport to return the key.

Photo Courtesy of Samantha Young

--

--