Super Bowl LVIII: A Modern Day Tragedy

By Kedron Phillips

Kedron Phillips
The Herald
3 min readFeb 29, 2024

--

Courtesy of Wikipedia

Once again, another Super Bowl has come and gone. To be honest, I started off only being present for the halftime show, but ended up being super interested in the game as well. I went into it thinking the Chiefs were just going to automatically win, then I saw how well the 49’ers were playing and I had some hope.

Going into halftime I could see the light at the end of the tunnel. The 49’ers were ahead of Kansas City, Usher was about to go on, and there was video proof of Justin Bieber being in Las Vegas…it seemed like it was setting everything up for a perfect second half.

As I sat on the couch watching, I was quite literally sitting on the edge of my seat waiting for the halftime show to start. As it started, I sang along to every song. Then, I saw Alicia Keys. Ok. I can get on board with Alicia Keys. Not who I was expecting, but I’m sure she’s not the only one. Personally, I was confused when I saw Usher grabbing her from behind. I’m sure her husband was as well. Alicias’ husband can be seen below as he watched comfortably from their home.

Courtesy of Openclipart

As the performance went on, more and more stars came into the picture. H.E.R, will.i.am, Ludacris, and of course, Lil Jon. The stage was set up perfectly for the last final star to join. In my opinion, Usher plus Ludacris on the same stage equals a perfect opportunity for “Somebody to Love” to transition into “Baby” and that be the finale.

At one point, I think I remember the realization of “Justin is not coming” hitting me so hard I literally started crying. Usher and Justin Bieber quite literally trolled the entire nation. To make matters worse, Justin was IN THE STANDS.

Yes, ok. The performance was good. I think the disappointment of no Justin Bieber overshadows the whole shabang. After halftime EVERYTHING went down hill. The Chiefs started playing better. The game went into overtime only for the 49’ers to lose and the whole nation got to hear Travis Kelce sing “Viva Las Vegas.” Wow. Not something that was exactly pleasant. Not only does he yell at and attack his coach…he sings! What a CLASS act!

Hopefully your Super Bowl experience was better than mine. Now the nation relies on one man to bring down Patrick Mahomes and the Chiefs. That man is Joe Burrow. One thing is for sure: come next season…I will definitely be wearing my Bengals jersey and Joe Sheisty sunglasses when they meet.

Courtesy of The Ringer

--

--