SVU on the Street: Favorite Song Right Now

By Jex Mecham

Jex Mecham
The Herald
4 min readNov 9, 2023

--

For The Herald’s music edition, we wanted to know what the students here at SVU are listening to. With a wide range of tastes, we found that the student body has listeners of all kinds of genres, from rap to reggaeton, and a whole lot of familiar favorites. So, without further ado, let’s see what students are listening to.

@emma.fergalicious |Courtesy of Abby Hansen

What is your name and where are you from?

“I’m Emma Ferguson, and I’m from California.”

What is your major and grad year?

Education and Liberal Arts Major, Class of December 2023.

Are you involved in any activities on campus?

“No, but I work in Admissions if that counts.”

What is your favorite song right now?

“My favorite song is a Taylor Swift song, and it’s called ‘When Emma Falls in Love’ and that’s because my name’s Emma.”

@spendiggity144 |Courtesy of Abby Hansen

What is your name and where are you from?

“I am Spencer Oswald; I am from Albion, Michigan.”

What is your major and grad year?

Undecided, Class of 2027.

What is your favorite song right now?

“Favorite song is ‘Sweet Talkin’ Woman’ by ELO.”

AJ Cooper |Courtesy of Abby Hansen

What is your name and where are you from?

“My name is AJ Cooper; I’m from Tampa, Florida.”

What is your major and grad year?

“Family and Human Development, Class of 2026.”

Are you involved in any activities on campus?

“No, I work in the Athletic Department.”

What is your favorite song right now?

“‘Keep It G’ by Rod Wave.”

@jacksonmstone |Courtesy of Abby Hansen

What is your name and where are you from?

“Jackson Stone; I’m from Gilbert, Arizona.”

What is your major and grad year?

“I’m a Business Major, and I think 2025… Not sure.”

Are you involved in any activities on campus?

“I’m on the Cheer team, and that’s really it.”

What is your favorite song right now?

“Right now my favorite song is ‘Sedona’ by Houndmouth.”

Ethan Ashton |Courtesy of Abby Hansen

What is your name and where are you from?

“Ethan Ashton from Goochland, Virginia.”

What is your major and grad year?

“I’m a junior studying Business Management with a Minor in Economics.”

Are you involved in any activities on campus?

“I am on the Rugby team, [and] I participate in leadership for the Business Club.”

What is your favorite song right now?

“I’ll have to go with ‘ADMV’ by Maluma.”

Flo Torres |Courtesy of Abby Hansen

What is your name and where are you from?

“My name’s Flo; I’m from Oahu, Hawaii.”

What is your major and grad year?

“My major is Graphic Design, and I will be graduating in 2025.”

Are you involved in any activities on campus?

“I am a part of the Track and Field team, and I am also a part of the Polynesian Heritage Association.”

What is your favorite song right now?

“My favorite song is ‘Ice Melts’ by Drake.”

@maxym.sutton |Courtesy of Abby Hansen

What is your name and where are you from?

“I’m Maxim Sutton, and I’m from Brentwood, California.”

What is your major and grad year?

“Graduating in 2024, and my major is Biochemistry.”

Are you involved in any activities on campus?

“I am a Men’s Volleyball player, and that’s about it.”

What is your favorite song right now?

“It’s called ‘Glimpse of Us’ and it’s by an artist named Joji.”

@rileyrehl |Courtesy of Abby Hansen

What is your name and where are you from?

“Riley Rehl, and I’m from Marietta, Ohio.”

What is your major and grad year?

“So, my major was Business Administration and Leadership, and I graduated this May, so in 2023.”

Are you involved in any activities on campus?

“I am a creative producer for the media team.”

What is your favorite song right now?

“My favorite song right now is ‘Lose Control’ by Teddy Swims.”

The music listened to by the students of SVU spans a wide range of genres and tastes. You can find a fan of just about anything and anyone in terms of music. Clearly, Knights have an ear for great tunes. We encourage you to check out the music our interviewees listen to, and tell us what you think! You can share your thoughts with us on instagram @theheraldeditorinchief and find us on Medium at:

Huge thank you to everyone who participated in our interviews, and another huge thank you to Editor-in-Chief Abby Hansen for taking the photos for this article, and to Caleb Palmer for editing them!

--

--