SVU Women’s Basketball: More Than a Team

By Hailey Paige

Hailey Paige
The Herald
3 min readMar 15, 2024

--

Picture courtesy of SVU Athletics

The SVU women’s basketball team just finished their impressive season. For me, the atmosphere on game day is an indescribable feeling of excitement and nervousness. “Game days are always the most exciting of the week for me. I always wake up happier knowing I have a game to look forward to and throughout the day I try to calm myself down to not get too hype. Game days are definitely fun” (Maria Savvun, 26’). When the game starts the score is 0–0 and anyone can have a good or bad night. With the record we have most people would think we go into the game thinking we’ll just roll over the team and move onto the next. I think it’s the opposite, I go in with the mindset of proving why we are doing well.

Picture courtesy of the family of Lilly Kentner

In practice, we all hold each other to a certain standard and push each other to get better. There are also times in practice when we can all joke with each other and the coaches but be serious when needed. This has probably been the best program I have been a part of because it feels like more than just a team, we are more than just basketball players. In basketball, we all try to know one another’s strengths and weaknesses. Like where we like to receive our passes or which hand we don’t like to dribble with. I think practices are run in a very organized way and push us to get better in each drill.

Picture courtesy of SVU Athletics

One of the things that has made this season so enjoyable for me is that we seem to be more than just a team. We pick each other up when we are down and make each other laugh. Although we might not always see things eye to eye, we never let an issue get bigger than it needs to be. It’s like having a second family away from home.

Picture courtesy of the family of Lily Kentner

Overall, this season has been a wonderful experience and we see all our hard work pay off when we win. “I’ve really enjoyed this season and the great experiences that I have had. Also the bonds that have grown between the other girls and I as well as the coaches” (Anna Claytor, 27’). Another player, Captain Abby Snyder, said, “It’s been a fun season to be a part of. The team is great and we have fun on and off the court together. We have something special going for us this year.”

Picture courtesy of Jadie O’Bray

--

--