SVU’s Yoga Instructor: Allie Fraizer

Tommi Batty
The Herald
Published in
4 min readNov 17, 2021

By Tommi Batty

Courtesy of Allie Fraizer

This week I spoke with Southern Virginia University’s Yoga instructor, Allie Fraizer. After learning a bit about her yoga experience, she gave some great information on what students can do to finish out the semester strong.

She started doing yoga when she was 15-years-old. Her mom took her to a class and she had an amazing time. Fraizer then got her first certification when she was 17.

“I started out teaching kids yoga, then when I was 21 I got my 200 required hours to teach. I taught 3 different preschools and had like 25 kids.”

What was your process to begin teaching yoga?

“It is 150 hours of classes and it’s broken down into smaller sections. It’s 50 hours of business aspect, 50 hours of sequence practicing, 50 hours of personal practice, and then 50 hours of teaching. I lived in Mexico when I was doing my teaching certification which was intensive training for 35 days. We did yoga eight hours a day. I stayed there after I got my certification, and I continued to teach for a few more weeks.”

What is your favorite part about teaching yoga?

“When people come up after class and express how they feel so much better or have really meaningful experiences. Yoga is a very spiritual thing for me, and some of my most spiritual experiences have happened inside of the studio. I’ve had multiple experiences where people have come up to me and have cried or are really struggling in their lives, and they’ve come to me afterwards and expressed that that was just what they needed. Through certain sequences, you have the opportunity and the ability to tap into something that’s greater than yourself.”

Yoga brings so many health benefits both mentally and physically. Fraizer added,“When I started practicing I was not taking care of myself. It was so hard for me to do postures because I was so tired all the time. Once I got devoted to practicing, all of the sudden it motivated me to become healthier.” She explained to me that by moving your body through these postures, it brings so many benefits. “I started to feel better for the first time and felt like I had power over my own life and how I felt.” By practicing everyday it helps the body to feel so much better emotionally, mentally, and physically.

Allie says her goal of holding yoga classes for the campus community is to help people to fall in love with themselves. To fall in love with their bodies no matter what they look like, no matter what they feel like. “I want to provide a safe place for people to move their body. Yoga can feel so exposing, but it is different because everyone is on their own mat, and you don’t have to look at anyone else. You just can come and listen to my voice and go into your own world and still be benefiting your body in so many different ways.”

What do you recommend to improve at yoga?

“Stretching every morning and every night. Deeply stretch 30 minutes as soon as you wake up and 30 minutes before you go to bed. In order to improve at yoga, allow your body to open up. Eating better is also going to benefit tremendously. Your body will love you so much more and in turn, you’ll love your body.”

Allie shared some simple ways to implement meditating everyday. “It’s really simple, and you don’t have to do anything elaborate, just take 10 minutes everyday. Sit down wherever you are, close your eyes, and listen to the sound of your breath. Be aware of what your body is feeling. I’ll sit down for 10 minutes whether it’s on my bed, floor, or in my car up at campus and I’ll just sit there and close my eyes. Check in with the body, and just become aware of all of the sensations you feel. It brings your mind present so that you can’t experience anxiety or stress. It gives your mind a 10 minute break.”

What are some wellness tips you have to share with the student body to help finish up the semester strong?

1. Stretch in the morning and evening.

2. Add a handful of greens to your diet.

3. Drink more water.

4. Meditate to relieve stress.

5. Talk kindly to yourself.

It’s really hard, especially as a college student comparing ourselves to everyone around us or even our past selves. Every person and every circumstance is different. We have to stop judging ourselves on lack of ability, or on a lack of motivation. To finish off the semester strong, I would encourage everyone to just follow these steps and be patient with yourself.

Classes are currently being held on Mondays at 8 p.m. at the Stoddard Center, hopefully adding Wednesdays soon.

--

--