Taylor Swift Sucks and I Can Prove It.

By Curtis Stone

Curtis Stone
The Herald
4 min readNov 16, 2023

--

https://www.flickr.com/photos/rwoan/9650046061/in/photostream/

Taylor Swift. The pop idol who just finished the second most grossing tour by any artist ever, and the most grossing by any female artist ever. Either you know her from her classic Romeo and Juliet love story era, or from ‘Shake it off’ playing on every radio station for 3 months straight. Most likely, if you are reading this article, you know who she is and you have at least six of her songs you can name off the top of your head. Well I’m sorry to tell you this. . .but Taylor Swift, as an artist, really sucks. Disagree with me as much as you want, but this is the truth and I can prove it to you through her lack of originality, inability to use anything but the same four rhymes, and just lack of any songs that don’t involve some sort of toxic relationship.

https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Taylor_Swift_%286820735620%29_-_cropped.jpg

Unoriginal Rhymes

First off, Taylor can’t rhyme. I shouldn’t say she can’t. . . more like she came up with four or five cool rhyming words back in elementary school and hasn’t been able to come up with anything since. Don’t believe me? I’ll prove it to you. Taylor has rhymed ‘car’ with ‘bar’ in just about every song she can fit it into. ‘Cruel Summer’, ‘Cowboy Like Me’, ‘Hits Different’, ‘Getaway Car’ (sort of an obvious choice), ‘Cornelia Street’, ‘Fall Back On You’, and ‘Cardigan’ all use this same rhyme. I would understand not being able to rhyme with words that are 3 or 4 syllables long, but a single syllable three letter word? Come on Taylor. Try are, or far, or scar, or star, or jar, or guitar, or bizarre, or memoir, or superstar. I did a single Google search and found at least eighty words that can rhyme. And if you’re thinking this is the only bad rhyming scheme, I’ll give you a few more.

Blue with you/do in ‘Gorgeous’, ‘Afterglow’, ‘Hoax’, ‘Lover’, ‘Delicate’, ‘Paper Rings’, ‘I Heart’, and ‘Made Up You.’

Tears and Years in ‘Karma,’ ‘It’s Time To Go’, and ‘Closure.’

Name and Fame in ‘The Lucky One’ and ‘Midnight Rain.’

What her music is about…

Now let’s go into what Taylor sings about. I know it’s good to have a niche in the world of music, however, I think Taylor has gone a little too far into the idea of relationships based on just how much she writes about them. In her albums, Taylor Swift, Fearless, Speak Now, Red, and 1989- a whopping 81% of the songs are about relationships. In fact, 38% of every song she has made is about just breaking up. Not relationships in general. Not going through a tough time and making it work again like Romeo and Juliet. Just breakups. Couldn’t think about anything else?

https://www.flickr.com/photos/jazills/8642419792

Repetitive Reputation

So I think I’ve made my point on how unoriginal Taylor Swift really is, but if you don’t believe me, I have yet another argument for you. Taylor Swift loves repeating herself over. . .and over. . .and over again. In ‘Welcome To New York’ she repeats the title 29 times. ‘Out Of The Woods’ is repeated 34 times in its namesake song and mentions being clear yet 24 times. ‘All You Had To Do Was Stay’ is mentioned 20 times with an extra six ‘stays’ thrown in the song as well. ‘Shake It Off’ uses its own title 44 times and then mentions players/haters/heartbreakers/fakers 81 times. Yes, you read that right. 81 total times to say four words. And this is only a few of her songs.

All in all, I think Taylor Swift writes some catchy songs. I’ll admit that. But at this point, not a single one is something new or original. Just 8 of 10 songs are about boys and she’ll manage to repeat herself about 30 times in the song while you are listening to it. I know fully generated AI songs that do better than this.

So, Taylor Swift sucks. Not because she can’t sing, just because she does the same. . .exact. . .thing in every song. Maybe you love that and, well, good for you! I personally like my music with a bit more variety and character, but that’s an opinion.

Check out our Taylor Swift Album Announcement Article here and one about her and Travis Kelce here!

--

--