The Art of Pick Up Lines

Elizabeth Morgan
The Herald
Published in
3 min readFeb 15, 2022

By Elizabeth Morgan

We’ve all been there… You’re at a party, taking a stroll on campus, or waiting in line to get your lunch and someone catches your eye. The only problem is, you don’t know what to say. We can help you with that! We asked the students of Southern Virginia University to share their best and worst pick up lines and the effectiveness they have.

In a poll of 20 people, we asked two questions to determine what makes a good pick up line. The first was to see if people preferred a cheesy pick up line, or a smooth pick up line. The results were split down the middle with 50% saying smooth was more effective and 50% voting cheesy as the more effective pick up line.

The next question was if people found short or long pick up lines more likely to work. Thirty percent of voters said long pick up lines were more effective compared to the 70% who felt that short pick up lines were more effective.

We took one final survey and asked the students of Southern Virginia University to send in their best and worst pick up lines and they did not disappoint. We wanted to put some of the entries to the test and see which ones would have greater success in picking people up.

  • Poll 1: Are you a fart? Cause you blow me away (worst) vs. Do you have a bandaid? Because I scraped my knee falling for you (best). The worst won with 54% of the votes.
  • Poll 2: Better tie your shoes, don’t want you falling for anyone else (worst) vs. Knock, knock. “Who’s there?” Where when “Where when who?” My place, tomorrow, me and you (best). The best won with 51% of the votes.
  • Poll 3: Are you an appendix? I don’t know what you do or how you work, but I feel like I should take you out (worst) vs. Are you a parking ticket? Cause you got fine written ALLL over you (best). The worst won with 70% of the votes.

Our results show that people were often more keen to vote for the “worst” pick up lines compared to the ones that were considered the “best.”

Whether you are in search of a Friday night date or your forever person, your first impression matters. Make sure you are prepared because you never know when it will be time to make your move. If you need some pick up line inspiration for this Valentine’s season, look below for the full list of entries we received.

Some More Pick Up Lines:

  • Are you the sword of Laban? Because you are exceedingly fine
  • Hot Girl Summer? Girl you are hot every season of the year
  • Out of all the letters in the alphabet U is the best
  • Are you a drill Sergeant? Because you have my attention
  • Just like my wardrobe, I can’t decide what I like best about you
  • I’m no marathon runner, but I’d like to run this race called life with you
  • Are you my appendix? I don’t know how you work but I feel I should take you out
  • Just like my socks, I’d hate to lose you
  • Milk first or cereal first? Either way you can be first in my heart
  • Are you a door dash order? Cause I’d like to take you out
  • Are you a hippo? Because I want a hippopotamus for Christmas
  • Well here I am, what are your other two wishes?
  • Are you a vending machine? Because you are a SNACK
  • Are you a choking hazard? Cause you take my breath away
  • Are you an oil? Because you’re essential to my life
  • Are you a fart? Cause you blow me away
  • Better tie your shoes. Don’t want you falling for anyone else
  • Girl are you the newspaper? Because there’s a new issue with you everyday
  • Are you a booger? I’d pick you
  • Do you have a bandaid? Because I scraped my knee falling for you
  • Knock, knock. “Who’s there?” Where when. “Where, when, who?” My place, tomorrow, me and you.
  • Are you a parking ticket because you got fine written ALLLL over you
  • Are you Little Caesars? Because you’re hot and I’m ready
  • Are you a keyboard? Cause you’re my type

--

--