The Land Is Inhospitable and So Are We: Mitski Album Review

By Faith Bowen

Faith Bowen
The Herald
5 min readNov 7, 2023

--

Puberty 2, Bury Me at Makeout Creek, Be the Cowboy, Laurel Hell. What do all of these albums have in common? They were all written and sung by the highly credible and phenomenal vocalist Mitski Laycock. On September 15th, 2023 Laycock released her most recent album, The Land is Inhospitable and So Are We. Mitski told the Dead Oceans Record Label that she drew on inspiration “everything from Arthur Russell to the Spaghetti Western scores of Ennio Morricone”, Mitski wrote each song during “little bursts over the past years,” while overcome by the details she noticed around her. Apple Music reports, “Mitski has seen the darkness, and on The Land is Inhospitable and So Are We, she stares right back into the void.” This album is full of deep and emotional storylines that involve addiction, self-worth, neglect, self-sabotage, the human brain, complexity, and independence. You can listen to this album on all streaming services. After listening longingly and intently to the new art Mitski has produced, I can say wholeheartedly this is an album you do not want to miss out on.

(The Land Is Inhospitable and So Are We Album Cover. Image by Wikipedia).

Starting off the album strong is the song entitled, “Bug Like an Angel.” Right away,this song dives into the complexities of addiction, the longing for escape, and the cyclical patterns of self destruction. Throughout this whole album Mitski’s vocals are very prominent, but you can really see her vocals shine in Bug Like an Angel. The use of instrumentalism is absolutely breathtaking and combined with her voice it creates a very ethereal feel. The lyrics and musicality were very unique but often felt very monotone. 3 out of 5 stars for lyrics, 3.5 stars for musicality, and an overall rating of 3.25 for Bug Like An Angel.

The second album on Mitski’s track is, “Buffalo Replaced.” For those wondering, no this song is not actually about buffalos. Buffalo Replaced explores themes of longing, disconnection, and the struggle to find meaning and stability amid a rapidly changing world. Now although I admire artists who use metaphors in their music, I think Mitski got a little carried away with this one. It became very hard to follow and because of that I felt like I couldn’t fully soak the song in. Overall, I would give this song 2.75 stars.

I wish I could write extensively about each and every song on this album but unfortunately that would result in 11 paragraphs, personal sleep deprivation, and a nap for my readers. Because of our spastic human brains I’m going to only lightly touch on some songs. Which leads me into my next review for our 3rd song, “Heaven.” This song has an overall sweetness to it as it goes through the charm of living with the person you love. It’s wonderfully written and truly beautiful. Give it a listen. 4 stars!

If you’re just skimming through this article and have no intent of actually listening to this album whatsoever, PLEASE listen to Mitski’s 4th song on this track, “I Don’t Like My Mind.” This song dives into the singer’s struggle with her own thoughts and memories and the overall uneasiness of being left alone with her mind. If this song becomes your favorite I have one question, Who hurt you? Obviously I’m kidding, but this song just does a phenomenal song at explaining the natural human fear of being left alone with our thoughts and I think most people can relate to it. 4.5 stars.

(Mitski’s 4th track title, “I Don’t Like My Mind. Image by @mitskidata on Twitter)

Track number 5, “The Deal” and track number 6, “When Memories snow,” both scored a 4.5 star rating. Mitski has a gift when it comes to writing lyrics. The Deal is about the urge we as humans have to love and to be loved. The artist takes this a step further by proposing the question, “At what price?” My favorite lyric from this song is, “Your pain is eased but you’ll never be free.” This song was beautifully written. “When memories snow” essentially highlights the struggle to navigate and process memories. The musicality and metaphors portrayed in this song were truly breathtaking.

“Nothing in the world belongs to me but my love,mine, all mine, all mine.” This is a quote from track 7, “My Love Mine All Mine.” This song dives into the intimate, possessive nature of love and the fear of losing it. All together, very breathtaking. 4 stars. Her following 2 songs are entitled “The Frost” and “Star.” I felt as though The Frost was very monotone and had a very steady beat whereas Star was constantly changing and had an overall ethereal feel to it. It was interesting to compare these two songs’ similarities and differences. “The Frost”: 3.25 stars. “Star”: 4 stars.

The last two songs did a wonderful job of tying the album together. “I’m Your Man” dives into the darker aspects of love, highlighting the inner turmoil of the protagonist and the power dynamics that exist within their relationship. 3.75 stars. The final song, “I Love Me After You” was an absolute power bop. Her vocals, the emphasis on self worth, independence, and the emphasis on power…what a great way to finish out the album. 5 stars.

Before I listened to this album, I was already a huge fan of Mitski’s work. I will admit, the first time I listened to this album I wasn’t absolutely blown away like I have been by some of her previous albums. But when I actually realized what the songs were about my appreciation for each song grew immensely. This album had so much emphasis on meaning, lyrics, and musicality. The meanings behind most of these songs were either very unique or something I’ve never heard before. I can say wholeheartedly that this is one of the best albums Mitski has ever written and not only is it an enjoyable listen but it truly sticks to its title. This Land is Inhospitable and So Are We.

--

--