What Athletes Love about Southern Virginia University — Besides Athletics

Sarah Brezenski
The Herald
Published in
4 min readApr 11, 2018
Courtesy of svu.edu/athletics.svu.edu

Southern Virginia University often has an emphasis on athletics, but our school doesn’t just care about scoring points or winning big. The University also has important academic and social aspects, so we asked our Knights what about Southern Virginia, besides athletics, is most important to them. Here’s what they said:

Courtesy of Seth Hanson

“My favorite thing about Southern Virginia is the quality of people, between students and staff, that we have on campus. I am grateful for their example, testimony and strength. It is what I will remember most about this place.”

-Seth Hanson, ’18, Football

Courtesy of athletics.svu.edu

“I just like the small class sizes and the one on one time with the professors.”

-Jacob Musick, ’20, Cross Country

Courtesy of athletics.svu.edu

“The small class sizes. You get a lot of individual time with your professors and you’re able to build a better relationship with them.”

-Madeleine Maher, ‘21, Track & Field

Southern Virginia Cheer and Dance Teams — Courtesy of athletics.svu.edu

“I really like how easy it is to get to know other people. Networking is reall yeasy it’s easy to connect and make friends. It’s really nice.”

-Victoria Bisel, ’21, Dance Team

“I think my favorite thing is that I can be an athlete and can focus on academics. I don’t have to choose one or the other. I feel like my coach makes it really important for us to focus on academics first. We have practice, but it isn’t so long that it makes it impossible to start and finish homework. I appreciate that they give us time to do both.”

-Hayley Farr, ’21, Cheerleader

Courtesty of athletics.svu.edu

“I really like the way of life Southern Virginia tries to display to its students.”

-Brooks Fletcher, ’20, Wrestler

Courtesy of athletics.svu.edu

“I’d say the great thing about [Southern Virginia] is you have a lot of opportunities here that you wouldn’t find anywhere else. Like teachers knowing who you are and small class sizes. It’s just an overall better environment for a better learning experience.”

Braden Lewis, ’21, Football

Courtesy of athletics.svu.edu

“I love the small class sizes and the relationships with professors. All my professors this semester are really helpful and I can go talk to them and they know my situation. I just feel like they want my success and what’s best for me.”

Audrey McBride, ’20, Tennis

Courtesy of athletics.svu.edu

“I like the community and environment. It’s very close. It feels like you always have a friend here. SVU is like the melting pot of the east, which is really cool because you get to meet people of different cultures and backgrounds and you have the ability to learn about all of them.”

Madi Krauss, ‘20, Lacrosse

Courtesy of atheltics.svu.edu

“The small class sizes. It really helps me feel like I’m important to the teacher I guess, not just another body.”

-Daniel de la Cruz, ’21, Track & Field

Courtesy of athletics.svu.edu

--

--