“What Should I Do After Graduation?!” Life Advice from Campus Leaders

Will Edwards
The Herald
Published in
5 min readDec 14, 2021
Photo taken from shutterstock.com

“What should I do with my life after graduation?” is a question that has consumed the minds of many college students. Thoughts of “what if I choose the wrong path?” or “if I commit to this path am I missing out on an even better one?” can cause stress and anxiety. I am sure everyone who has had to make a big life decision can relate to these feelings. So how should college students, or anyone, approach this question?

I have asked a few professors and campus leaders to share what advice they would give to a college student who does not know what to do with their life after graduation, and I have complied their responses below.

Advice from Alan Whitehead, Professor of Psycholoy

“[If you do not know what to do after graduation] join the club! …okay, I’m only half kidding. Today’s graduates are presented with SO many opportunities that it becomes challenging to make one single choice. I suggest three guiding principles that may help students. First, find a passion to guide your work. There are likely dozens of possible careers that can fulfill that passion. Second, don’t lose control of the steering wheel. You can always change directions, but you need to be moving forward to do so. Third, remember that Heavenly Father trusts you to make your own decisions. If He has an opinion, He will share that with you if you’re listening. Don’t be afraid to exercise your agency and move forward. Finally, I might also add: have fun!”

Advice from Jared Covington, Marketing Instructor

“Passive indecision is the enemy. The entropy generated through worry and procrastination becomes debilitating, so make a plan — any plan — and start pursuing it. It may not be the correct plan, but through pursuing something, you will suddenly find yourself with options.

When I was graduating, the freedom of not having anything mapped out was almost paralyzing. It was not until I committed to a path during my final semester (grad school), that things began to open up. I had to walk through that proverbial door in order to see what the available paths even were. Within days, my plans had changed completely (I received an offer for my dream job, which I accepted), but I can guarantee that, had I not made a decision to consciously move towards something, I would not have been in a position to take advantage of the opportunities that did present themselves.”

Advice from Zebulen Riley, Professor of Economics

“My suggestion to someone unsure of what to do in life is to think like an economist. Namely, consider the costs and benefits of different avenues you might take. Think about all of the benefits that a job might offer, not just wages. Quality of life, flexibility, and doing something fun are all important too. Be mindful of opportunity cost: your foregone alternative when you make a decision. Always make sure that what you’re getting is worth the sacrifices you have to make. Also, don’t necessarily take the first job you see. Know your worth, as a person and as a worker. But don’t spend too long searching for the perfect opportunity, causing yourself to miss many good ones along the way. Ultimately, try to find what fits you, your skill set, and satisfies you personally, economically, and spiritually.”

Advice from Brinn Willis, Photography Instructor

“My advice? Figure out what you’re passionate about. I mean, really figure it out. You’ll spend a tremendous amount of hours and days and months and years doing this thing we call ‘work’, so make sure it’s work in which you find inspiration and meaning every single day.”

Advice from Lauren Nelson, Interim Director of Career Services

“My advice for a student who doesn’t know what to do with their life after graduation is to zero in on a particular industry that sounds interesting to work in. Most students that I work with, who have the same concern, are hesitant to narrow down their entire career to a single job title. By focusing on an industry rather than a job title, you can become familiar with a variety of jobs that you may have never heard of. For example, maybe you have no idea what field you want to go into but working in a hospital setting seems fulfilling — look at jobs in local hospitals and filter for ones that match your skills and interests. Following opportunities can open the door to an extremely fulfilling career that you become passionate about over time, versus working in the reverse order to identify one ‘passion’, thereby limiting your options.”

Conclusion

I hope this advice was helpful, I know that as a college student myself, I was able to take some advice and think differently about my plans after graduation. Don’t stress, guys — we’ve got this!

--

--

Will Edwards
The Herald

This road goes on forever, and the party never ends