The Best Apps to Keep Busy Students Organized

How to Use Your iPad In School

Tyler Smith
The Herald
5 min readSep 11, 2018

--

By Tyler Smith

You may have used an iPad to watch endless hours of Netflix, but have you used it for school? For anyone unaccustomed to using iPads in the classroom setting, it is difficult to determine what the best apps are for students starting a new semester. In order to help students be more organized and prepared for class, I’m putting together a glossary of apps and sharing my experience using my iPad.

My name is Tyler Smith, and I have a lot going on. I’m a senior, computer science major with a math minor, I’m taking seven classes, I work two jobs, I’m married and have a two-year-old. I am also in the marching band, and I have a weekly Dungeons and Dragons campaign. With everything I have going on, I have to stay organized, and my iPad is the key to it all.

OneNote holding my life together

Notes

When I get to class and I need to take notes, I use OneNote. With it I can organize my thoughts clearly, based on class, chapter, class date, or topic. I also use it as scratch paper when I tutor math because I can easily write or draw anything I need to help the student. Notability is another useful app for note taking. I use it on occasion when I want to record a lecture or interview as I take notes. A unique feature is that it can record the audio, and when it plays back, it displays what you wrote at that specific point in the recording.

File Sharing

Any time a teacher needs to share a document with me in class, I use Files. I do this because it is easiest for me to save all of my files in one location, divided by class, then open that file in whatever app I need, instead of opening the file in that app straight away, then not remembering which app I used, and basically losing the file.

Scheduling

Another essential app to keep me organized is the Calendar app. I have so much going on that it’s hard to keep track of where I need to be, and when. The Calendar provides essential reminders. I easily access it on my iPhone, and just as importantly, I can share it with my wife so we can always keep track of each other. This is not the only app that can help you keep your schedule organized, but for me it is the best fit.

Reading

With all the upper level classes I’m taking, I have a lot of reading to do on a regular basis. I try to keep my reading materials in Files or Bookshelf, so that I can easily switch from one book to the next. I would prefer to have them all in Files but any textbook that I get through the virtual bookstore will always go in Bookshelf. A benefit of Bookshelf is that most textbooks have the option for Read Aloud, which will allow you to have your textbook read out loud to you. This saves me a lot of time because it means I can safely cover material in my textbook as I walk to school, or as I cook dinner.

Writing

When it comes to writing, I like to use Microsoft Word. It is familiar, and a very robust text editor. Even when I have to turn in my writing in another app, I will still write it in Word then transfer it over. This allows for the benefits of spelling and grammar checks, word counts and formatting options. On top of this, most websites and apps are designed to support Word documents. I also use Medium to write my stories for The Herald. For anyone who is interested in writing, photography, or blogging, Medium is simple to use yet produces a beautiful product.

Math

For my Math classes I use a combination of the simple Calculator app and Desmos. The default calculator has a widget that is great for simple calculations so I can easily figure out the answer and get back to the task at hand. Desmos is like having a graphing calculator that can do much more than just graph, such as plotting tables and finding regression lines.

My widget lineup

Internet Browser

Often, in class or at work, I need to look something up, so I’ll turn to the internet. Safari is my go-to because of the simple integration, especially between my phone, iPad, and my wife’s Macbook. I find it especially helpful to have shortcuts that will take me to a website (such as mysvu, lds.org, or my character sheet for D&D), with just a touch.

Church

I’ll also use my iPad when I go to church, specifically the Gospel Library app; I love having all of my scriptures on hand, and having access to any other church resources. One of those resources is the LDS Tools app which has the entire ward directory as well as my ministering assignments.

Social Media

It is very difficult to stay in the loop when I never have time to sit and socialize, so I rely on a few apps to stay caught up with what is happening both on campus and with my friends. I use the Knight App for school news, Slack and Messenger for group and individual conversations, and BAND for the marching and concert band. Having Messages hooked up with my iPhone and my phone number also helps, but unfortunately, even with the best apps, I still don’t have as much of a social life as I would like.

Relaxation

Since it is important to balance work with relaxation, I also use Facebook, Podcasts, Netflix, Dungeons and Dragons apps, and a couple dozen games. I try to not use those apps during school or homework time, but hey, we’re all human, and sometimes I need a break.

--

--