The Heartbeat’s Valentine’s Day Poetry Collection 2022

Amy Rose
thehhmheartbeat
Published in
5 min readFeb 14, 2022

Hey Highlanders! It’s that time of year again, and in celebration of Valentine’s Day, here’s our student-submitted poetry collection! We thank everyone who sent something in this year, and can’t wait to see what talent you have to offer in the future. With that out of the way, here are your love poems Holy Heart!

The Nameless Man

Not a soul knew his name

He sat on the bench picking at petals

Knowing that this day would be just the same

But he still waited for someone special

No face

But a bright heart

An empty space next to his place

Petals split into little red parts

“Does she love me?”

He would sit and wait for his soulmate

Though the space was always free

The petals made a shade of red

Just like the scars in his heart that bled

Crimson Budgell, Grade 12.

Untitled

I have always wondered

Love, is it a must?

Opinions I got far and wide

Very little difference between the few

Everyone wondered if its a need or want

You probably have your own idea

Our lives are all different

Ur goal is what you set

Final destination

In your heart

In your mind

The place of love

I shall find

In this maze

With some luck

To my amaze

I got though

Just one day

My goal I appraise

To someday be

The one truly

In your arms

Your chapter in my book

Was one of my favorites

But I cannot keep rereading it

Expecting a different answer

So I shall start a new chapter

With references to you in it

But I shall move forward

Onto a new world

Anonymous, Grade 10

Untitled

There I spot

Walking down the hall

A girl I see

Her emotions, I see balled

Seems to be upset

Or maybe down

I begin to jet

And start to walk around

Beside her I stay

Waiting for the notice

But all she will say

Is her life is atrocious

With comfort I try

Making it seem alright

Her father who had died

The past, I wished to rewrite

I ask what I could do

Nothing for it had seemed

A idea I held so true

Something I had dreamed

So I had asked

“Wanna hangout sometime?”

A smile I had caught

She thought for some time

And said “tomorrow at nine?”

After we talked it out

A hug I received

Then I heard something

The alarm, I was deceived

Ibo, Grade 10

Untitled

I want to be your valentine,

oh how I longed to make you mine.

your love hit me like a cannonball,

Don’t keep me waiting until fall.

I love you more than words can say,

Before I met you my days were grey.

I can’t resist your charms-its true,

I’m head over heels in love when you.

Anonymous, Grade 12

Roses Are Red,

Roses are red,

Violets are blue,

My voice is cute,

And so are you.

Orchids are white,

Ghost ones are rare,

An outline is wavy,

And so is your hair.

Magnolia grows,

With buds like eggs,

The run is long,

And so are your legs.

Sunflowers reach,

Up to the skies,

The wand is hazel,

And so are your eyes.

Foxgloves in hedges,

Surround the farms,

The hide is tanned,

And so are your arms.

Daisies are pretty,

Daffies have style,

My sight is pretty,

And so is your smile.

A rose is beautiful,

Just like you.

Anonymous, Grade 11

Thinking of You

Thinking of you

Forever and always

The things that you do

Now and all days

I love your mind

Heart and soul

For you are kind

And my whole

My love a blaze

I am never blue

I spend my days

Thinking of you

Emily Fagen, Grade 12

“I Love You Too”

“I love you”

Or

Do you need me to forgive you?

Want me to accept you?

Have nothing left to say?

Is it obsession?

Is it control?

What does love mean anyway?

Because

I have been hurt the most by those who

“Loved” me

Is love abuse?

Is love a tool?

Or

Have I simply never experienced “I love you” in the correct way?

But sure,

“I love you too”

…Is that what you want me to say?

Rowan Clarke, Grade 11

Empathy is an Illusion

Hey,

I don’t care about you.

I only care about myself.

but

it seems to be the case

that when you are happy

I am.

so I’m here to exploit that

if you know what I mean.

Okay?

Anonymous, Grade 10

Mirakurung

A basket on his tied arm

He used to pass by the market cause in his eyes

It was so real when he passed by the street

Has no heart — carries a suspicious package in its trunk

A few lines in front of me

There’s a bug in his house

like a white demigod

I fell to the ground looking back

A moon song on my tongue it’s fifteen thirty

You are on the cobblestones, ocus pocus

In whose bosom it will be brewed that night — give up!

A carnation in Kanar’s bosom with a foul breath

Everyone looked at him as if Monet had drawn him.

A sonnet from Shakespeare fell silent on my lips

Every expression that comes out of your mouth is color and prayer

Hello survivor of a short story meaning

(refrain)

I stayed halal

fortune telling on your face

count me

Wrap like night

a fairy tale

it’s Sunday

gliding star

If he came and took me

If I were a knight

Molière in the basket

And the moonstone necklace on her chest

As you breathe, it gets closer to the stars!

(refrain)

He looks and thinks about the water fortune

A ship from afar takes away all that daydream

The plastic shape of his face — a reform?

A new aesthetic form, just like the gospel

His face is towards the day, but the night is on his back.

Some speak another language I don’t know how

She cries, her face is both mournful and sweet

It wouldn’t even touch the flowers as if it were the plague

And one day a sparrow landed at your feet

A forelock fell between the universe and your face

A converging lens in the forest of dreams

The truth swelled up in all the lies

It’s worth it if she raises her head to reach for the stars

Her nails were full of joy but she was offended.

He undressed slowly on the old port

And he always turned to the moon when he got offended at home

What about fire or logos in my body?

Is it the north wind or the southwestern that lifts its skirts?

But that night he turned to me, not to the moon

He said count the stars above my head come on!

And the stars are naked before me

They don’t even sell me a shirt anymore in the market

I stayed halal

fortune telling on your face

count me

Wrap like night

a fairy tale

it’s Sunday

gliding star

If he came and took me

If I were a knight

Molière in the basket

And the moonstone necklace on her chest

As you breathe, it gets closer to the stars!

Anonymous, Grade 11

--

--