#{How to} De-Bug Your Mind &&[Balance, Life, for, Bootcamp, Success]

RoarzOnRailz
thelearningcurve
Published in
3 min readAug 24, 2019

A Lesson learned by me after week 1 @ Coder Academy, Brisbane

Literally Me…

It was week 1 of Bootcamp and all through the class…Heads were exploding and people would gasp 😮…Confusion and panic, it slowly sets in….What am i doing here ?….When will it end !.

But no need to fret…as I’m here to append….
There’s things we can do for our brains my dear friends..
Take a deep breath…please don’t hold despair.
Read the damn blog!…that is all….pear?

To those who it may concern,

As some of you may know I have recently undertaken a life changing adventure into a 6 month intensive Fast track coding Bootcamp. It has truly been an amazingly inspiring, action packed, full-on & crazy week. As someone who comes from a completely different background (crane operator/rigger) I can’t believe that week one of this journey has come to end!!…there was just one problem….

The head explosion had set in!. 😫

It was Friday afternoon and I realised I was staring at my laptop screen….mind vacant….head ache…unable to process the most basic of formulas. Thoughts of being unworthy and like I “just wasn’t smart enough” slowly creeping in to my mind. After all it was only week one right ! I just couldn’t believe that I couldn’t grasp what was in front of me. I went home and spent my Friday night trying to crack the code…..But to no avail.

But this morning I truly did crack the code!

Woorim Bribie Island

Quiet Sandy beaches with a gentle breeze across my face and the cool clear sea water washing over my toes.

Time with the people I LOVE…letting my Brain switch off from code and think about nothing in particular.

My loved ones

& Thats when it truly clicked….

Yeah I love code!…Yeah I want to work hard and become an amazing developer! But the only way that is going to happen is with balance.

When I got home I fired the laptop up to do a bit of study with not a care in the world….BAM… It all came together. Suddenly I understood that Code that I had been struggling with on Friday after-noon….evening…all night.

Everyone’s Poison is different. The way everyone unwinds is different….Yeah you’re going to have to work hard to get through this boot camp…of that there is no doubt!… But you’re not stupid!…you’re smart enough!…the only thing holding you back is you!…and sometimes working too hard can be your own worst enemy…BUT YOU CAN DO IT!!!

So take that time out!!!! Go for that walk!!!! take that small break!! Do something you love!…it may just give you the answer you’re looking for…

AND DONT GIVE UP!!..Its all about that balance 😊.

$ success == Hard_work && Balance.
$ True.

Peace ✌

--

--