Letter # 2 : Dear Security Officer

Chadia Mathurin
The Letters Project
2 min readApr 6, 2017

--

Dear Security Officer,

On second thought, I think we should scrap that “dear”. This isn’t about to be a super gentle letter.

Man, I have some beef with you: It’s about your misappropriation of the word, “insecure”.

I, and all of womankind, would appreciate it immensely if you would not use the word “insecure” to make us feel like we have done something wrong.

I wish that you would refrain from the misappropriation of the word “insecure” to silence valid fears. I would appreciate it if you would please, please, please, not use the word “insecure” to explain away your bad behavior.

Insecurity has its place. It is an indication that things are not secure. It is an indication that there are some things that threaten the firmness of your relationship. If you see it for what it is, it’s presence can provide the guidelines to strengthen your relationship or perhaps the cue to exit the relationship.

I want you to acknowledge that some of your actions or inactions are threatening the security of this woman that you say that you love. If you choose to acknowledge this, my hope is that you will do what is necessary to secure her.

If you are flirtatious with women who aren’t her, and it threatens her emotional security, then do what needs to be done to secure her. Please. I beg. Do not tell her, “I am doing nothing with these women. Your insecurity is turning me off.” As a matter of fact, I think you should be concerned if your woman is not insecure about you paying excessive attention to a woman that is not her. But let’s leave that horse for another show.

So I was saying…

If your actions make her feel unwanted or rejected then speak to her in the language that makes her feel wanted and appreciated. Secure your woman, paddy!

For some men, grasping these things is an impossible task. If you can’t grasp it quite yet, you may not be ready for a relationship. You need to leave that thing — as in the relationship, not the woman — alone and do you. And by all means, do you. But please don’t use the word insecure to right your wrongs.

Your Sister :)

--

--

Chadia Mathurin
The Letters Project

Entrepreneur. Bestselling Author. Branding Rockstar. I write on Faith, Travel, Art, Relationships, and African & Caribbean Entrepreneurship