So you want to build a hardware company,

Sara Chipps
Jewelbots Ink
Published in
6 min readJan 13, 2015

--

and you’re a software engineer…

A major part of my career has revolved around being an information beacon. I have found great success through learning and then regurgitating back to the community that I have grown with.

Since starting work on Jewliebots a little over a year ago, I have learned an incredible amount about hardware, engineering, and manufacturing. None of this information is readily available online. There is no exhaustive how-to. I have gotten much of it by speaking to people who have done it before, learning from my mistakes, and from the incredible staff and mentors at Highway1.

To continue the spirit of disseminating my knowledge and learnings to the larger community, I’m going to write a series about how to navigate the world of building a hardware product when you are a software developer.

The series is mapped to rollout as such:

Part 1: Prototyping

Part 2: Debugging

Part 3: User Testing

Part 4: Proving Traction

Part 5: Design for Manufacturing

Part 6: Manufacturing

Part 1: Prototyping

--

--

Sara Chipps
Jewelbots Ink

I jam with the console cowboys in cyberspace. CEO @jewelbots #levolove JS4life