Why I imposed DaebakPH a hibernation?

Kim Esperanza
TheMallowThoughts
Published in
2 min readFeb 17, 2017

For my valued DaebakPH readers and followers, as you can see on this website, we have no new postings regarding to Korean Drama, Music, Pop Culture and Community.

And if you are wondering about my blog DaebakPH is currently on hiatus, and before I’m going to answer this, I’m going to share my backstory first.

DaebakPH (formerly Daebak Philippines) started way back April 2015 as a KPOP and KDrama-centric website focusing on upcoming Korean Dramas to be aired in Philippine TV, KPOP Concerts and events to be happened here and others.

July 2016, I made my first official media partnership together with Korean Cultural Center PH and Philippine KPOP Convention Inc. which was Happy Hallyu Day. That was a blast and at the same time, very tiring yet enjoyable. Following last September, my first KPOP event coverage which was KPOP Switch organized by Link Up Productions under the helm by Vincent Sy Igno.

September, we rename to DaebakPH, and we have a minor changes — from being a KPOP And K Drama-centric blog into the community-focused website.

And prior to the hibernation, I covered unofficially which was KPOPCON8 last December 2016 and also, this was my last KPOP Event coverage.

Why I imposed my blog a hibernation?

Here’s a long story.

I hired Jian as a news writer and proofreader but she did it once and also, she did not do her post. So, I’m doing it all by myself. From posting news, opinions, posting social media stuff and graphics. Even though, I have one person to help me out, I’m going it on my own. It was a very difficult to work alone but it will be worth it somehow.

Second, I have a bunch of schoolworks — particularly groupworks, homeworks, projects and a lot of school stuff. I tried my best to juggle my work as a student, graphic artist and a blogger. So I decided myself to hibernate my blog.

I know it was a very bittersweet but I need to do it.

But hey, I will be back very soon. Very very soon. But no specific dates yet.

--

--

Kim Esperanza
TheMallowThoughts

Retired DaebakPH blogger, Graphic Artist and Illustrator.