3D Map of Highland Park (Home Values)

twitter: @themapdallas

Robert Mundinger
TheMap
3 min readSep 26, 2018

--

I’ve been doing some research on home values and how they relate to school finance (Texas ranks 43rd in school finance 🙄).

I was analyzing Highland Park to learn more about Recapture (Robin Hood) and created this 3d map. I’m sure you just want to know who owns the houses with the very tall parcels and why they’re all neighbors and if they borrow sugar from each other, but I don’t want the illuminati after me any more than they already are. Let’s just say one of them rhymes with ‘Barry Bones’ (although not the largest one 🤔).

I’ll have a more robust analysis including Dallas ISD, but figured I’d share this in the meantime (sorry phone-only people). Click and hold down the arrow on the top right and scroll around to view from different angles.

Home Values 3d Map (link)

There are about 10,000 residential properties in Highland Park/University Park. There are about 26x more homes in Dallas ISD, yet only 3.5x more total residential value 😮

Yet, as I discussed in a previous article, and has been pointed out several places elsewhere, DISD is on a roll. Here’s more evidence. This one mentions me so I may be slightly biased:

I’ve always wanted to be a guru

This disparity in residential values may start to change, especially if prestigious colleges continue the trend of admitting more students who have overcome some adversity, rather than those with extracurriculars like lacrosse, water polo and interesting travel experiences (if it feels like I’m talking trash about HP, I only do it out of love. I’m from there. This hurts me more than it hurts you 😭).

Anway, now I’m rambling. I’ll quit because I know you just came here for the map. Hope you like it. If you don’t, feel free to trash talk me. If I can give it, I’ll have to take it.

DISD Homes:

DISD homes

HPISD Homes:

Email: robert@themap.io

--

--

Robert Mundinger
TheMap
Editor for

Founder of TheMap — technology, cities, mapping