A Powerful Discovery

The Meal Prep Chef
themealprepchef
Published in
6 min readJan 28, 2017

I write this post to share something I’ve recently discovered. A powerful way of living that has completely shifted my perspective on everything and helped me in so many ways; from pursuing my passion, to creating an amazing relationship with the girl of my dreams, to building my new business from nothing.

I am truly grateful for having discovered it and want to share it with you because I think it can help you too.

Don’t worry, I’m not here to ask if you have accepted Jesus into your life and I promise I’m not affiliated with the Church of Scientology.

Don’t get me wrong. I respect all faiths, religions, and philosophies, and wouldn’t dare to challenge any of your existing beliefs. But what I’m about to share with you is completely secular and can be practiced by anyone regardless of faith, race, color, gender, or age.

It is simply a way of being that aligns with who we are. And there is no need to convince you of anything because it is something we can all see for ourselves.

What I have discovered is called being present. Here and now. In everything I do.

I’m sure you’ve been told to “live in the moment” or to “stop to smell the roses”. I know, it sounds like the oversimplified life advice you find in fortune cookies. But, at a deeper level, that is some the best advice anyone can give you. It’s hard to really understand what it means until you actually practice it and begin to see the benefits.

I won’t go into details about the practice itself because there are entire books written about it, and there is no way I can cover it in a blog post. But I will share how it has helped me and how it can help you.

Let me ask you this: When was the last time you thoroughly enjoyed going for a walk? Or taking a hot shower? Walking your dog? Cooking a meal from scratch? Or having a meaningful conversation with a loved one?

I’m not talking about the simple act of performing the activity and liking it. I’m talking about being completely immersed in it, in body and mind. With no distractions and nothing else in your mind. Really tuned into your senses.

You might say “I can’t afford to do that, I have too much going on”, or “those things are not important enough to deserve my undivided attention”.

I get it, I’ve been there too.

Our lives are way too busy that we rarely have the luxury of focusing on one thing at time. There are too many distractions around us that our minds are literally everywhere (if not worrying about the future or dwelling on the past). And to top it off, we live in a society where doing more and being busy is encouraged.

But these seemingly simple things are a big part of life and, if we are not fully present as we do them, we are simply missing out on life (or at least a big chunk of it).

Think about it. How much time do you spend doing these things? We do them so often that they should be used to anchor ourselves in the moment.

But being present for the simple things is only half the battle.

I’ve learned that being present for the big and not-so-simple things is also, if not more, important. The life-changing moments, the big decisions, the victories and the failures.

We all know that life isn’t just rainbows and unicorns, and being present when life hits you hard allows you to deal with it more gracefully. You become more receptive to the wisdom that these moments have to give you so that you learn and grow from them.

It all becomes easier to deal with when you are grounded in the moment, which is the only thing we really have.

Have you ever wondered why things seemed more enjoyable when we were children? How time appeared to pass at a slower pace? Why we have vivid memories of those times?

It’s because we truly lived in the present and savored each and every moment. You see, being present is our default state, but we eventually drift away from it as our minds get distracted by the vicissitudes of our busy adult lives.

The good news is that we can return to that state and there are different methods of being and remaining in it.

If you are new to the idea, know that it will take time and practice to break your old habits. Initially, it will be a little difficult to return to that state because our minds are so used to being all over the place. But with patience and consistency, you will start seeing results before you know it. Just like working out.

A book that introduced me to the idea and one that I highly recommend as an introduction is “The Power of Now” by Eckhart Tolle. But you can find tons of tips and information by asking Google “how to be present” or “how to live in the moment”.

Personally, I find mindful meditation to be the best way to ground myself in the present moment. I try to practice it first thing in the morning for 20 minutes so that I am present for the rest of my day.

I won’t go into details as to how meditation works but it is also completely secular and scientifically proven to have many benefits like reducing stress, increasing focus, improving mental and physical health. It is simply state of complete awareness.

But meditation is not the only way to be present. You can also be present doing something you really enjoy and completely immerse yourself in it. It could be playing an instrument, painting, drawing, cooking, baking, or working out.

Just be sure that whatever it is you do has your entire attention and that you are not thinking about your day at work or your plans for the weekend. Take your time and be deliberate with it. You will see how much better your experience is.

So how has being present helped me in my business?

First of all, I am finding the process of building it incredibly enjoyable. Not only because it is something I truly believe in, but because I am able to fully immerse myself in it.

I also have more mental clarity and focus which allows me to make decisions in a more objective manner without being impulsive, reactive, or emotional.

Also, I find that I am a lot more creative when I am present. The most creative ideas come to me when I’m in that state.

Not to mention dealing with the stress of running your own business. Being present allows me to deal with the stress in a more calm, balanced way.

So whether you are looking to improve your business, your relationship, or your life in general, you can have my word that living in the moment will help you tremendously.

Remember that our days here are numbered. Don’t let life pass you by. Do yourself a big favor and be present to savor each and every moment you live.

You will lead a more fulfilled and enjoyable life and I promise you it will be the best decision you’ll ever make.

--

--

The Meal Prep Chef
themealprepchef

I created this blog to share meal prepping tips, recipes, and insights on how I build my business from the ground up.