When Words Are Not Enough

We long for communication, not understanding.

Sam Padilla
Published in
11 min readAug 23, 2021

--

Photo by Glen Carrie on Unsplash

It was one of those nights. A video about relativity took me to a video about black holes, which took me to a video about time, which in turn led me to a video about philosophy, which eventually delivered me to poetry. I probably spent two to three hours going ever deeper into the YouTube rabbit hole.

I lived in an improvised small room in the basement of a small house. My room had only one tiny window, which made it dark and with a slightly gloomy vibe. Another curious property of my room was that it tended to be too much of whatever temperature it was outside. During summer, my room would be too hot, and during winter it would be too cold.

This was early this year, probably sometime in late February or early March. All I remember is that my room was freezing. The Iowan winter, unlike the “normal” winter, doesn’t quite back down at the end of January. Rather, it persists through February and stubbornly stretches into mid-March.

Photo by Nuno Alberto on Unsplash

As if the darkness and the cold weren’t enough to set a sorrowful vibe, I was astonishingly watching time slipping through my fingers. It was my last…

--

--

Sam Padilla
Meditations

Philosophy, technology, society, and economics. Deep, sincere, first-principle thinking. Succinct, original, independent writing.