Samuel Castaño — Simple is better

Ricardo Nunez
The Migratory
Published in
4 min readFeb 6, 2018

The simplicity in the work of the Colombian illustrator Samuel Castaño is maybe his best tool. He is able to say a lot with just a few elements, a very interesting way to work illustration

中文 / Español

I like the way Samuel describes his work. Simplicity is his result, where the images are distilled to its minimum without loosing its comprehension. Say a lot with just a few. One of the philosophies of Graphic Design, which is his undergrad and is the basis of his work. I agreed with him about the definition of his work. There is something pleasant in the simplicity of his illustrations, there is also something familiar in the objects he uses and there is an invitation to think in the message his works transmits. It is a simple and clear style. However there are layers of subjectivity that invites the reader to interpret the message in a personal way.

Can you introduce yourself?

My name is Samuel Castaño, I’m illustrator and Graphic Designer. I was born in Cartagena but I’ve been living in Medellin, Colombia for many years. I work principally in illustration, in publishing, especially in children books.

What inspires you?

Inspiration and referents are always changing. However I feel attracted by things that I find on the streets. The scenes from the real world are my biggest inspiration. I’m not so like the type of illustrator that imagine things, instead I found them on my daily life. On the other hand, I also find inspiration in little things, particular objects, cultural material, etc, inspire me and can be seen often in my work.

How did you develop your style?

I would say that was a language that I gradually found product of my strengths but also my weaknesses. At the end of the day, I think that the way you find to communicate through illustration is like a crack between what can and cannot do. To me is easy to do, the way I develop my illustration, I enjoy it and I think is also convenient in order to communicate what I want.

I began doing collages, which basically is bring things from different surfaces and put them together in order to say something different. With time, the collage began to limit my work so I started to draw the elements I needed to finish my work. I realized that then, that I was able to combine both, drawings and other elements, so I started mixing them to construct my message.

I don’t consider myself great at drawing in a classic style. So I began to look for an own way to drawn in which I feel confortable. With time, I perfected my way to draw; more schematic and iconic. I think that came from my undergrad studies in Graphic Design.

Which work you have done you like the most?

Its a version of the book Don Quixote, done with a Colombian publishing company. I like it because I had the opportunity to work a literature classic. Besides, the characters are physically well know in the collective mind of the people. Nonetheless, the publisher company and the Art Direction gave me the chance to approach the book in my own way. So the result is done from the basis of my own language in which I had a lot of room for exploration.

How you see illustration in Colombia?

Thinking of working just in Colombia would be just to limiting yourself. I would say that nowadays you have to think in how to sell your work worldwide; otherwise would be like putting yourself boundaries where there are none. On the other hand, giving an opinion of how the market of illustration is in Colombia, I would say that we need to be more professional. Not just the clients but in many cases the illustrators as well.

More in our Patreon

Samuel’ favorites
Animal: Dung Bettle
Música: All
Comida: Chicken and rice
Película: Too many to pick just one
Libro: Letters to Theo(Vincent Van Goh)

Written by: Ricardo Nunez Suarez

--

--