This is the Light

Allison Wallace
TheModernTestament
Published in
2 min readDec 12, 2016

As I’ve gotten older I see more of how reality works. The passion of dreams and worldly wonder is slowly dragged out of us by responsibilities. Innocence is tarnished by stress and disappointment.

The light in our eyes fades.

The future starts to look dimmer the more I look around me. I see the news and all the horrible things going on in the world. People are dying, losing their houses, struggling to pay taxes… there always seems to be something wrong.

I see my parents, how they come home from their jobs exhausted. I see my grandparent’s sunken eyes from their long divorce. I see people losing sight of everything important because they have jobs they don’t like just to pay the bills.

Is this my destiny too? Go to school for a third of my life, work for another third, and then I’m too old to do everything I wanted.

No. Even with the dark clouds covering the sky, there are still a few people that show me the light can break through.

One of them is my history teacher. He’s one of the most kindhearted people I know. What a difficult job it must be to handle so many kids, I know how bad we can be sometimes. Nonetheless, this teacher is passionate about it. He loves history and he cares about all of his students. If you were to talk to him, he’d say something to brighten your day without even trying. He’s shown me that the world can change, as it has many times in history. He’s taught me there are people willing to accept all differences.

Another person that shines is my therapist. She’s helped me and so many others win battles within ourselves. Sometimes I don’t know how she doesn’t have a mental problem from the stress some of these patients probably cause. She is truly amazing. I can see why she’s so good at helping people through their most personal problems. She’s taught me to persevere and to think positively. I see the light in her, she always helps the best she can and that’s all you can ask for.

This is my message to you: let the light shine through. Don’t let the cruelness in this world steal your passion for what you do, for living. Do it for you and do it for kids growing up trying to shine as well.

If you don’t like your job, quit it. Go do what you love. If you’re unhappy with where you’re at, change it. Change the world. Be the light that breaks the clouds. Show everyone that there’s more to life than what we think we have to do. We were born to be great. To be great you need passion.

Passion is the light.

Let the light burn.

--

--

Allison Wallace
TheModernTestament

17. PNW. Writer and reader. I have many stories to tell. Future veterinarian.