Not So Hidden Gems: An Introduction to My Favourite Ceramics Artists.

Paige Worrall
TheMuseumInspector
Published in
3 min readAug 26, 2021

I was reluctant to get Instagram when I first started writing. Scrolling through endless amounts of content was just never appealing to me, especially when I could be reading a book. However, after finally creating an account, I found that it was a lot easier to tailor my preferences. Through exploration, I have found many multi-talented contemporary artists. During my time on the platform I discovered an interest and love for ceramics. Below is a list of some of my favourite artists.

Daniel Shapiro

A ceramicist based in Los Angeles, California, his moulding of clay into naturalistic and organic shapes really stands out amongst contemporaries. From small appliances such as lamps to bigger pieces of furniture like tables, the creation of such fluid forms is impressive to say the least. A particular favourite of mine is the spaghetti lamp (pictured below) which would certainly be a talking point in anyone’s living room!

Spaghetti Lamp #2. Photo from www.danielshapiroceramics.com

His work can be viewed on his Instagram and inquiries about his work can be made via his website.

Marianne Vandenbussche

Located in Belgium, Marianne certainly has a distinct style when it comes to producing ceramics. The sculpting of pots, bowls, and plates usually involves the addition of a unique feature, perhaps a curved edge or ridge within the work which gives it a multi-textured look. The final glazing of the objects has a dazzling effect which fascinates the eye. I’m particularly drawn to this plate (below) which brings calming images of the sea to mind.

Photo from Marianne’s Instagram

Inquiries about her work can be made on her website and can be viewed on her Instagram page.

Ben Rihn

An assortment of cups, bowls, vases, and bottles painted in bright tones and guaranteed to raise some eyebrows can be found in Ben’s portfolio. Each piece has a unique design making them one of a kind. This fire bottle (pictured below) is one of my favourites and I also love the handmade teapots which come in an assortment of colours.

Photo from Ben Rihn’s Instagram

His work can be purchased via his shop on Etsy and can be viewed on multiple platforms.

Andrea Shemilt Kashanipour

A Canadian artist based in Arizona, Andrea has an array of clay work in the form of ring dishes, candlestick holders, small vases, and figurines. Many of these pieces are inspired by mystical goddesses, historical figures, animals and artists. My favourite are the ring dishes which all have distinct details unique to their designs.

Waterlily Goddess Ring Dish. Photo from Gallery — Andrea Shemilt Kashanipour (askceramic.com)

Please visit Andrea’s store and Instagram for more of her work!

These four artists all have their own individual styles which have drawn me to their creations. Through their craft, they have also demonstrated the variation possible when working with ceramics. Hopefully my little introductions to them will encourage you to explore their work, and the work of more ceramicists!

--

--

Paige Worrall
TheMuseumInspector

Writer. Freelance Exhibition Assistant. Museum Studies Student specializing in the use of co-productive practice within institutions. History of Art Lover.