7 Lessons I Learned About Life in My Twenties

The Love Blog
theMUSINGS
6 min readJul 18, 2022

--

Photo by Scott Graham on Unsplash

This blog post is all about the lessons I learned in my twenties. It’s full of advice, so if you’re young and looking to learn what it takes to find success, this is a great article to read.

“There is nothing more satisfying than knowing you’ve done the right thing and it’s paid off. The pride of accomplishment. That feeling of contentment.” — Henry David Thoreau

Some people say that their twenties are a time to learn as much as they can, while others say they’re a time to explore and do whatever they want. Many lessons may be learned in this decade of life and I am sharing 7 of them with you in this blog article.

1. You can’t have everything

One of the most important lessons I’ve learned in my twenties is that you can’t have everything. You have to make choices and have priorities in life, and that means that you won’t be able to do or have everything you want.

It’s okay to not have everything figured out. It’s normal to feel lost and confused at times. What’s important is that you keep moving forward and learn from your mistakes.

Another lesson I’ve learned is that life is precious and fragile. We never know when our time will come, so we have to make the most of every moment. Cherish the people you love and tell them how much they mean to you.

Finally, I’ve learned that happiness comes from within. It’s not about what you have or what you achieve, but about how you feel inside. If you’re not happy with yourself, no amount of success or wealth will make you happy. Work on being the best version of yourself and find happiness within.

2. Sometimes there’s no one to blame

One of the most important things I learned in my twenties is that sometimes there is no one to blame but yourself. This was a hard lesson for me to learn, but it has served me well.

There are times when things will go wrong and you’ll be tempted to blame someone else. Maybe your boss made a decision that you don’t agree with. Maybe your best friend said something that hurt your feelings.

In these situations, it can be easy to point the finger and assign blame. But the truth is, sometimes there is no one to blame but yourself. You might not be happy with a decision your boss made, but if you don’t speak up and express your opinion, then you can’t blame them. And if your best friend says something that hurts your feelings, you can’t just assume they did it on purpose.

Learning to take responsibility for your happiness and wellbeing is one of the most important lessons you can learn in life. It’s not always easy, but it’s worth it.

3. Major life decisions are not made overnight

One of the most important things I learned in my twenties is that major life decisions are not made overnight. It takes time to figure out what you want in life, and it’s okay to change your mind along the way.

For example, I originally thought I wanted to be a doctor. But after taking some pre-med classes and shadowing doctors, I realized that it wasn’t the right fit for me. So, I switched my major to psychology.

It can be scary making major life decisions, but it’s important to remember that you are the only one who knows what is best for you. Trust your gut instincts and take your time making big decisions. You’ll get there eventually!

4. There are always two sides to the story

In my twenties, I learned that there are always two sides to the story. It’s easy to see things from our perspective and believe that we are always right.

However, it’s important to try to see things from other people’s perspectives as well. Doing this can help us to understand them better and can sometimes even help us to see our actions in a different light.

It’s also important to remember that not everyone is going to agree with us all the time. That’s okay! We can still be friends with someone even if we don’t agree on everything.

In short, I learned that it’s important to be open-minded and to try to understand other people’s points of view. We don’t have to agree with them all the time, but it can certainly help us to get along better if we do try to see things from their perspective.

5. What you think is your truth might not be true at all

One of the things I’ve learned in my twenties is that what you think is your truth might not be true at all. There are so many things that we believe to be true, but they’re just our opinions. And while our opinions are important, they’re not always accurate.

It’s important to question your beliefs and to be open to new information. Just because you’ve always believed something doesn’t mean it’s true. Be willing to learn and change your beliefs if new information comes to light.

Life is constantly changing and evolving, and so are we. Keep an open mind and don’t be afraid to grow and change with the times.

6. You will hurt people in your life while trying to protect them

I’ve always been a people pleaser. It’s in my nature. I want everyone to be happy and I go out of my way to make sure that they are.

But, sometimes in our attempts to make those we love happy, we end up hurting them instead.

I’ve learned that sometimes you have to take a step back and let the people you love make their own decisions — even if it means that they might not always make the right ones.

It’s hard to watch someone you love make a mistake, but sometimes they must learn and grow.

So, if you find yourself in a situation where you have to choose between making someone happy or protecting them from harm, remember that sometimes the best thing you can do is let them experience life — even if it means getting hurt along the way.

7. I still don’t know what the hell I’m doing with my life

I’m in my early twenties and I still have no idea what I want to do with my life. And that’s okay!

I’ve learned that it’s normal to feel lost and uncertain at this age. It’s a time of transition and exploration, and it can take a while to figure out what you want to do with your life.

There are many options available, and it can be overwhelming trying to figure out which one is right for you. The best way to figure it out is to explore different options and see what feels right for you.

Don’t be afraid to make mistakes. Life is all about learning and growing, and you’ll never figure out what you want to do if you don’t experiment a bit.

Be open to change. Things will inevitably change as you go through life, and you need to be flexible to adapt.

Take your time. There’s no rush to figure everything out right away. You have your whole life ahead of you, so take your time and enjoy the journey!

If you like my content, consider clapping & following so the algorithm will also love me 3000 and push us forward. Love you 3000 ❤️❤️❤️

--

--

The Love Blog
theMUSINGS

The Love blog is a place where you will get informative blogs on relationships, dating, parenting, personal advice. Stay Tune and Love you 3000 ❤️❤️