Happy Chinese Lunar New Year

YEAR OF THE RABBIT, 2023

Fifi Leigh
theMUSINGS
Published in
2 min readJan 26, 2023

--

Saturday, January 21, 2023, South Coast Plaza, Costa Mesa, California

snapshot of a sign for the animated centerpiece

At 3 pm, I decided to go to South Coast Plaza to check out the Year of the Rabbit events at the mall. When I arrived, the mall was busy with people checking out the Year of the Rabbit decorations. Many people were taking snapshots and making videos of the décor at the mall. I decided to make of a video of the cute animated Year of the Rabbit décor as well as some snapshots. I also did a video of some photo exhibit of some Chinese art on display, but I will post it later, in a different post.

I noticed I walked two miles inside the mall, enjoying the decorations and the Chinese New Year celebration. The rabbits look so cute. I also noticed that 2023 is the Vietnamese Year of the Cat. But there were rabbits everywhere, throughout the mall, in different sizes, shapes, colors, textures, and styles. The carousel even had white rabbits for the kids to ride. I sampled a small cup of cold coffee at Nespresso. I didn’t like it because hot coffee tastes better.

--

--

Fifi Leigh
theMUSINGS

Originally from Edinburgh, Scotland, but raised in America, and now a Cali Girl.