I posted, “I am horny,” and I wasn’t kidding.

Mohini Vats
theMUSINGS
2 min readJan 24, 2023

--

Yes. That’s true.
I used to write on Quora and there was this question, “how are you different from your sister?”

And I started with my first sentence: "My sister is reserved while I am quite horny.”

(Editing this made me realize how inappropriate that sounds but hear me out.)

Photo by Monika Kozub on Unsplash

The reason why I said so is that I thought horny meant something else.
I know it’s strange to believe, but that is true.

All thanks to my habit of not searching for the meaning but instead interpreting from the sentence and the context. And I paid a hefty price for it that day.

I somehow believed that being horny is to be hyperactive and vocal.

So, what I actually wanted to say is that my sister is a quiet child while I am vocal. But it turned out as if I am sexually aroused.

Mind you, I was fourteen.

When I posted that, a person attached a screenshot of the meaning of horny in google dictionary saying, “are you sure that’s what you mean?”

When I saw that comment, I wasn’t pleased and gave him a huge reply telling him how to think outside of sex.
I told him how there could be a life without sexualizing everything.

I feel really bad for the guy. LOL.
But the best part is someone else supported me in the comment section, saying that I was right and he better keep his nose out of it.

I wonder why the other guy supported me.

Well, I lost an innocent follower that day but had no regrets, as I still thought I was absolutely right.

When I think about it, it was indeed the most embarrassing incident of introducing myself as a horny person.

--

--

Mohini Vats
theMUSINGS

Figuring out if writing because don't have anything better to do or nothing else is better enough.