Let’s play HaLoFeHo together

A special thank you to all of my followers.

Melinda Asztalos Karma Pema Khandro
theMUSINGS
Published in
7 min readOct 22, 2021

--

For my first article published in a publication on Medium, I chose VRITANT’s “theMUSINGS”.

My favorite intriguing little human VRITANT shines his charming light into the world, and I chose his publication for my first not-just-self-published article on Medium because I feel the purity and the crispness of his joy and the power of his untainted energy.

Thus, I have written this article thinking of you VRITANT and the special community which you gathered together. I believe that you draw in people with a specific affinity for goodness and playfulness, and to me, these are among the best channels through which we can direct energy flow. Lots of energy circulates on Medium through people’s writings, and unchanneled energy often turns destructive. So, thanks again for offering a superb way to channel energy well.

In all honesty, I wrote this article thinking of my followers as well. I am grateful to all 77 of you for reading my work and for going deep with me into the meaning of life, death, consciousness, ego, the self, the intricacies of being human, and the wonder of living as a human being. I take this opportunity to mention each one of you in theMUSINGS, thereby uniting VRITANT’s delightful community with our little group of reflective souls.

In line with the cheerful tone that VRITANT set when he launched his lovely publication, I designed a game for us, which is meant to entertain but also help you advance on your journey of self-discovery.

I cannot help but promote self-awareness with everything I do. Self-awareness implies self-understanding and self-acceptance and promoting it is my contribution to creating a better world in which humans are more aligned with (their) being.

This drive inspired me to write my book “The Crack” which intends to be a manual for living as clear consciousness in human form. I teach about interacting with Life in meaningful ways, whatever happens. This is how I understand functioning through the true self or being clear consciousness.

I teach how to create space within our beings by embracing and even loving our cracks — the parts of our bodies and personalities that are weak and not especially shiny or socially praised. I call them “cracks” because I believe that by accepting them, we can magically turn them into windows through which the light of clear consciousness (or our Godlike nature) can shine through the humans who we are in this lifetime.

To me, creating space means reducing the crowdedness of ego-dominance, perhaps even eliminating it altogether. The crowdedness of ego-dominance is sustained by all our disturbing feelings and thoughts, stiff ideas and limiting beliefs that keep us stuck or paralyzed with fear.

However, I do not judge the ego. I don’t think it’s the enemy of happiness; in fact, I associate it with a puppy.

The trick that Life plays on us, which simultaneously is also the wonder of how masterfully it is all designed, is that we must disrupt and as much as possible prevent ego-dominance, but at the same time, we need to accept and even love the ego in us.

Naturally, this creates some confusion, and in the foggy mist many people end up rejecting or fighting the ego, when in fact we only need to watch it and guide it.

You don’t need to change who you are. But you absolutely must know how you are put together.

As I said, I often compare the ego to a puppy. The ego needs guidance from the human being, or else, just like an untrained puppy, it makes a mess of our lives. The more we learn about our ego, the better we get at guiding it and putting it in the service of the welfare of the human beings who we are.

In line with the “ego = puppy” allegory, ego-dominance is like an untrained puppy. Ignore training and you are faced with poop in unwanted places, destroyed shoes and lots of nervous barking. Eliminate ego-dominance and you are free to enjoy all the cuteness of the puppy and the unconditional love streaming from your bond.

Besides the obvious benefits for you, the puppy himself is also happier when trained. Picture a puppy running after his tail or barking at thin air. That unhappy sight is ego-dominance. Simply put, the ego thinks that it wants to dominate, but actually, it is happiest when its talents are used well while serving the human.

To help understand the mind, the ego, and the secret rules of how to lead a contented human existence, I created a comprehensive method of consciousness development “The 3M System” which helps people not only conceptually understand but also experience themselves as clear consciousness. The motto I chose for my method is “BE in all you DO” and the mission statement of my endeavour is:

“May the precious enlightened attitude be developed where it had not yet appeared; may it never diminish but steadily expand where it had already developed”.

In other words, my teachings and my writings are meant to help people become free from attachments and aversions and to support them in discovering the freedom of living their human lives in the equanimity that allows them to recognize that everything is just another manifestation of Life’s richness and diversity. Even the cracks in ourselves and in others.

My intent is clear, and it springs from my painful understanding that this human life is hard; often beautiful, but always hard. And it’s meant to be that way.

This understanding triggered my compassion for humans, including the human who I am.

Sorry for offering you too many details here, the point of this article is indeed to invite you to play a game with me. I just presented the framework for our game, so we can enjoy playing together even more.

Now let’s get into it.

Perhaps you are familiar with the SWOT matrix, which aims at identifying core strengths (S), weaknesses (W), opportunities (O), and threats (T). It is a strategic planning device through which companies and individuals can analyze their current standing and their future objectives, and they can also assess the factors that support or endanger the achievement of those objectives.

The game I invite you to play with me is inspired by the SWOT matrix, but I introduced some changes and created HaLoFeHo.

HaLoFeHo stands for YOUR PERSONAL hate, love, fear and hope.

Explicitly, the game of HaLoFeHo entails identifying and sharing your answers to the following questions:

What is your HATE? What do you dislike or even loathe? What do you find annoying, or alternatively: what irritates the hell out of you? What do you avoid (if you can) because it is unattractive or doesn’t resonate with your being?

What is your LOVE? What makes you feel joy and turns your face to smile without thinking? What brings you peace and nourishes your soul? What lifts your spirit and fuels your being with energy, warmth, and pleasantness?

What is your FEAR? What scares you the most? What do you avoid (if you can) because it gives you the creeps? Which scenario is your worst nightmare?

What is your HOPE? Which thoughts fill your heart with trust? What is your most cherished wish? Which desirable development can you believe in with your entire being?

Since I invite you to play this game with me, it is only fair that I share with you my HaLoFeHo first:

My Ha = pretence and hypocrisy, dishonesty, cowardice to face the truth about the self, gossip.

My Lo = my cat-baby Kicsike, Yvi our angelic Border Collie, sunshine, nature, trees, mountains with woods together with the sea, sunset, the Full Moon, warm summer nights, flowing exchanges of ideas between conscious humans a.k.a. great talks, soft jazz, Leonard Cohen.

My Fe = having to leave my cat-baby for whatever reason or not being able to serve her as I do; failure to reach the people who can grow through my teachings and my writings, keeping “The 3M System” and “The Crack” from getting acknowledged, not finding the right promotional team for my life’s work, missing momentum.

My Ho = that my book becomes a bestseller, that I can live well from teaching “The 3M System” and “The Crack”, that I contribute to the growth of clear consciousness in this world every day, that I am clear consciousness in all life’s situations, that I may leave this life in total peace, letting go in gratitude, like when you go to sleep totally at ease because you have completed everything you needed to do during the day and all is fine as it is.

I hope you will enjoy this game and I wish that it helps you with your respective paths. Thank you beforehand for sharing your HaLoFeHo and your thoughts.

--

--