The Black Dahlia Movie Review

A 2006 MOVIE

Fifi Leigh
theMUSINGS
Published in
3 min readNov 21, 2022

--

Tuesday, November 15, 2022, Research information for true-based movies

Photo by Christopher Alvarenga on Unsplash

Today, while eating my breakfast before I get ready for my gym workout, I watched a 2006 movie, The Black Dahlia, on the indie channel. I have seen it before on the indie channel, but I felt it didn’t flow very well, and I was often lost in the story. But after watching a video about a psychic reading connecting Black Dahlia to Hotel Cecil and Elisa Lam, the movie started to make more sense to me. The psychic in the video talked about certain important details that connected the whole Black Dahlia murder mystery together, which was similar to what had happened to Elisa Lam. Therefore, this morning, I thought this movie was quite interesting and intriguing.

Photo by Christopher Alvarenga on Unsplash

Sometime in the mid-2000s, I attended a local book reading by the author, James Ellroy, who had written the 1987 novel, The Black Dahlia. He talked about working with the LAPD on the case, which involved corruption, politics, and dark criminal figures. The event was interesting because Ellroy was an entertaining character, often blurting out unedited expletive descriptions, which were quite funny. But the novel was a fictionalized…

--

--

Fifi Leigh
theMUSINGS

Originally from Edinburgh, Scotland, but raised in America, and now a Cali Girl.