“What to watch?” according to your favorite Taylor Swift songs!

I thought of writing something new… And then I remembered to do one of these as I have been listening to a lot of Taylor Swift these days.

Edha Hanjura
theMUSINGS
Published in
5 min readDec 30, 2022

--

So let’s begin with the recommendations, shall we?

‘the 1’, watch ‘The summer I turned pretty’

The series is about Isabel, also called “Belly” who goes to Cousins every summer to meet her mother’s best friend’s family. Like every teenager, she obviously has her childhood crush, Conrad; he never really has noticed her. But this summer is different…

Isabel is finally seen as a grown-up girl rather than a child as before. She has to choose between her childhood crush, Conrad, and her best friend, Jeremiah, who she also loves.
(Watch it on Amazon Prime)

This series is best for people who are finding new romances and want to have a sneak peek into a teenager’s life.

‘Maroon’, watch ‘Sherlock’

I am pretty sure that you have already watched it but if you haven’t then surely try to. Well, everyone is aware of the storyline of a series or a movie involving Sherlock Holmes.

What I found different in this series is that there is a really dark but at the same time a little glimpse of a human-Sherlock as well. He was a very difficult character to understand when I read the book by Arthur Conan Doyle but by watching this series, I really got to see him as a person.
(Watch it on Amazon Prime)

This is a series (of relatively long episodes; so you might wanna save it for the weekend) and is for anyone like me who loves crime but at the same time, it’s got to be realistic.

‘Don’t blame me’, watch ‘One of us is lying’

Oh my god!!! I absolutely love this web series and it is on my top 5 series to watch. This is about a group of 5 students who go into detention but in the end, only 4 come out. One of them was murdered. Season 1 follows the other 4 coming together to find the murderer and the second season is even darker (I am not going to spoil it for you).

I had read about the book on so many websites but never knew there was a series on it too. Both seasons will definitely keep you hooked until the end. There are also many relationships that unravel and we also get to know that everyone has something to hide.
(Watch it on Netflix)

This is for literally everyone who wants to watch it and I personally recommend it to everyone, but in particular, I would say people who like high-school drama and teenage stories would like it the most.

‘Lover’, watch ‘Heartstopper’

This is series is literally the best romantic series out there. It revolves around Charlie who has come out but people don’t seem to accept him. The show shows how Charlie finds Nick and slowly from friends they become…The series also shows how difficult it is for teenagers of different sexualities to come out and accept who they are but at the same time dealing with the pressure of high school.

I loved this show even if I didn’t relate to it. Usually in many web series, there definitely are queer characters but their point of view is not necessarily portrayed but in ‘Heartstopper’, multiple P.O.V’s are shows which makes it so new and enjoyable.
(Watch it on Netflix)

It’s for people wanting to understand more about themselves or people like me who just want to see something new from another’s P.O.V.

‘I Did Something Bad’, watch ‘Wednesday’

This show is basically ruling the internet at this very moment right now. This show follows Wednesday Addams from the Addams family on her adventures when random people are found to have been murdered by a “monster” in the woods. Wednesday tries to find the killer and the person behind it. But will she succeed?

I absolutely love this series. I love how new the concept of portraying a girl as the hero and not as a “damsel in distress”. This show is quite dark as it is filmed with dark colours and everything but at the same time I never really felt scared of watching it.
(Watch it on Netflix)

Trust me on this, ‘Wednesday’ gives the same vibe as Taylor’s song, ‘I Did Something Bad’. Jenna Ortega does such a good job at acting Wednesday Addams, all the actors are really portraying the characters beautifully.

‘You Need to Calm Down’, watch ‘Red Notice’

I watched this film so long ago but I haven’t forgotten it. This is an action comedy film about an FBI agent trying to investigate the theft of an important “egg” which was stolen from a museum in Rome. This movie displays all the adventures of the FBI agent (played by Dwayne Johnson).

This is the funniest movie I had seen in a while. Even though it might sound a little serious but trust me on this one, it’s really not. Ryan Reynold’s performance and sense of humor are just impeccable.
(Watch it on Netflix)

Must watch for all those wanting a little laugh. And also there is Gal Gadot who just is the cherry on top (gosh!!!). Her performance and action scenes are just a must-watch.

‘You’re on your own, kid’ watch ‘Kota Factory’

This is a series based on the lives of engineering students who go to Kota, Rajasthan with the hope to crack IIT. This show revolves around Vaibhav and his ups and downs with the pressure, IIT, solving questions and other problems that he faces while being in Kota, all alone.

Oh My God!!! I cannot recommend this enough to students! If you are a student then please do watch this show because it really shows the reality; It doesn’t sugarcoat anything and shows you the life of an engineering student in a very raw form.
(Watch season 1 on YouTube and season 2 on Netflix)

This show is especially for students, but apart from that, even parents can watch it to understand the stress and pressure the student goes through.

So, this is what I think you should watch according to these amazing songs by Taylor! This is my opinion and also do recommend some shows and movies in the comments too!

A special thanks to each one of my followers!

A shoutout to for writing this article right here:

I hope you found this article informative and that it helped you in some way. I hope you liked this post and I will keep you updated every week…

Until then, goodbye!

About me: Goodreads. E-mail id. Linktree. You can also follow me on Medium!

--

--

Edha Hanjura
theMUSINGS

Love reading books, A potterhead and lastly, An optimistic person…