Wicked, book review & summary

WICKED: THE LIFE & TIMES OF THE WICKED WITCH OF THE WEST

Fifi Leigh
theMUSINGS
Published in
10 min readDec 2, 2022

--

Friday, October 21, 2022, A 1995 Novel by Gregory Maguire

my snapshot of the novel

I just finished reading the novel, Wicked, by Gregory Maguire. I was reading it once a week, only at the book meetup, for fun, mostly to put myself back in the mood for reading again, like when I was younger because I’m not reading much nowadays. I think this method helped because I am also reading before bedtime now.

Photo by BBiDDac on Unsplash

This novel is entertaining, filled with secrets, lies, and dark family history. It appears to be the prequel to Wizard of Oz, similar to the autobiography of the Wicked Witch of the West, from birth to death. I actually didn’t see her as wicked or evil. She seemed normal, except for her green skin condition she was born with, which made her appear like an outcast. I thought she was often treated like someone ethnic with dark skin because people often judged her for her skin color, like racism. Her parents are actually well-off; her father is a traveling religious minister, preferring to preach to the peasants and convert them, and he was rarely at home, while her mother became bored and restless by herself…

--

--

Fifi Leigh
theMUSINGS

Originally from Edinburgh, Scotland, but raised in America, and now a Cali Girl.