Dying Light: Hellraid Review | For Those with Strong Will and Time to Kill…

Brando Calrissian
TheNameBrand

--

Dying Light’s Hellraid is good DLC for die-hard fans of Dying Light and all its offerings, but after I completed my first loop, I was not gripped at all to return to the same map… to complete it endlessly. I don’t recommend it.

See, the thing that infuriates me with this expansion is seeing the potential for how much BETTER it could have been. I would have enjoyed it so much more if there was a variation in the rooms. Many roguelikes/roguelites can wear the facade of the game's levels feeling different because they generate a random tileset of rooms. I was happy going through the first time, taking in the environment, new weapon and enemy types, and mechanics, sure. But the SECOND I booted right back up at the beginning of the same quest route, through the same maps with minor differences, it immediately lost all value.

Perhaps it’s more of a preference for me, as I’m not entirely sure why the game suddenly felt awful to play after the first loop. I like the combat system. I LOVE the aesthetics. The end-game loot is great, from what I’ve seen in videos and read about in guides. There’s just enough sand in this machine for me to think that continuing to play Hellraid is not worth it. I do not want to play through the same “mission” all over again. It’s too samey. I’ve been graced to play much…

--

--

Brando Calrissian
TheNameBrand

I write about video games! I'm also working on writing a sci-fi novel, and creating an indie game. Thanks for all your support!