Remnant II Review

Brando Calrissian
TheNameBrand

--

Remnant 2 has easily become one of my favorite games of all time. Here’s the short version as to why:

Exceptionally fun tactical gunplay, mechanically fun and unique spectacle-style boss encounters, secrets galore, weapons, and loot that are beyond cool and fun to collect, all with a really great skill and level system to make you always feel like you’re making progress somewhere. I can’t recommend it enough. It’s some of the most fun I’ve had with a game in years, and I hope more people get the chance to appreciate it.

The long version: It’s surprising even to me that I’m singing such high praises. I never played the original Remnant, and haven’t heard of Gunfire Games either. Perhaps more interesting, is that I am not the biggest fan of FromSoftware’s souls-like formula. I don’t particularly seek out punishingly difficult games. To come from that background and enjoy Remnant 2 this much, as a game that’s marketed as ‘Souls-like with guns’, I think that’s worthy of including right at the beginning here.

To get some of the weaker points of the game out of the way, some of the narrative is a bit uninteresting. Some of the art direction is a little bland and uninspired. Maybe some of the music is lacking character. Definitely hated the puking in N’Erud. Some other negligible nitpicks not worth mentioning. But those are my only complaints.

--

--

Brando Calrissian
TheNameBrand

I write about video games! I'm also working on writing a sci-fi novel, and creating an indie game. Thanks for all your support!