Scott Pilgrim vs. the World: The Game — Complete Edition Review

Brando Calrissian
TheNameBrand

--

While I love the Scott Pilgrim franchise through its comics and movies, I had a hard time finding the love for it in this arcade beat-em-up game. While your experiences may vary, these were mine, starting with the good stuff.

Positives first! I adore the soundtrack by Anamanaguchi, which is legendarily good. Every track bursts with character and life and by all means, it could be some people's very reason to even play. It’s that good. Iconic. You have to listen to it. I’ll make it easy for you Spotify users:

The sprite work is also phenomenal. In a world filled with janky, poorly realized 3D anime games, seeing the comic art POP just as good (if not better) than it did on the pages of the actual series, I mean, WOW. They nailed it. Seeing all the characters, in all of these iconic locations, fully realized from the comics is like a transcendental experience.

For what it’s worth too, the fighting mostly feels good. You have light and heavy attacks, some basic combos in between, and can pick up objects in the world to fight…

--

--

Brando Calrissian
TheNameBrand

I write about video games! I'm also working on writing a sci-fi novel, and creating an indie game. Thanks for all your support!