VVVVVV Review — A Timeless Indie Classic

Brando Calrissian
TheNameBrand

--

VVVVVV via Backloggd

This review marks what I believe are my 4th and 5th playthroughs of VVVVVV, on my 3rd purchased copy. I don’t really believe I’m the EXACT target audience for VVVVVV (more on that in a bit), but I love playing through it all the same. It’s a clever, difficult little platformer, and it’s a great joy to play.

VVVVVV is simple. You move left and right and can invert gravity when touching ground or ceiling. Explore the map, save your friends, collect some shiny things, and try not to die. It’s so simple that you might wonder how it gets the praise in the first place, and I’d say that’s because of all the little threads that tie it all together.

The music, for one, is phenomenal and I think makes the entire experience for me. I’ve died in rooms hundreds of times, filled with nothing but determination because the soundtrack is banging louder in my mind than the voice of defeat. It’s so good I’d even recommend just listening to it a la carte. Just search for PPPPPP.

The other thing is a bit of a catch-all, but the visual style of the game is so good. Weird rooms with little guys, strange contraptions and creatures, words, and numbers that kill, all things to avoid of course. It makes for an experience that feels wholly unique and truly charming as you navigate through this strange dimension.

--

--

Brando Calrissian
TheNameBrand

I write about video games! I'm also working on writing a sci-fi novel, and creating an indie game. Thanks for all your support!