How to get Family and Friends to join your Business.

Dr. Doris Essiet
Business Growth Tips
3 min readNov 9, 2020

And Thanksgiving Dinners won’t Be Awkward

As Network Marketers, one nightmare we face is getting our family and friends to support us.

We struggle with getting them to understand our vision, our mission, and our desire to succeed in the industry. And this is an effort that we hardly succeed in, and the reason is that nobody else will understand your vision or your mission as you. So expecting them to understand it is an effort that is doomed to fail, but how about getting them to support us?

How about them joining us in the business also?

That will be cool right? But how do you get them to listen before they decide if it is a fit for them or not without creating rifts and burning bridges?

In this article, I’m going to share a few tips I used in getting my sister to listen and then sign up with me.

ATTENTION: First thing I did was try to get her attention and to do that I showed her how excited I am about the business and I was consistent in talking about the business. I shared stories of how I helped other women in achieving a particular result. A result I know that she wants. And that got her attention

NO HYPE. I make sure I was direct. I was clear with what I was talking about. I did not beat around the bush. I know that the products were effective and that gave me confidence. I didn’t oversell it. I simply focused on the benefits and testimonials. She appreciated my honesty and transparency. She did her research and got other testimonials and that made it very easy for me.

Check out this blog about Four things I wish I knew when I started my business so that you don’t make the mistakes I made.

https://www.dorisessiet.com/post/network-marketers-4-things-i-wished-i-knew

FREEBIE. The next most important thing I did was to get the products into her hands. I make sure she used it immediately. I capitalized on her excitement and hunger to achieve the same results she saw at the testimonials. I didn’t wait. And that is very very important.

FOLLOW UP. As soon as she used to the product, I followed up immediately asking her questions about her experience, of course with her permission. Then I asked her if she would like to enroll so that she can have access to the product as often as she wants.

And that is how I got my sister to sign up in my business.

The mistake many network marketers make is that they play The Family card and most times your family and friends feel manipulated and obligated. And they rather avoid you than sign up with you.

Take the heat off. Nobody likes to be sold but they will buy if what is in it for them is what they want and they know it will give them the results they need.

So stop burning bridges and start providing solutions.

Found this helpful? Do share.

--

--