The truth about Network Marketing

Dr. Doris Essiet
Business Growth Tips
3 min readMar 7, 2020

There are certain truths you will have to discover for yourself when you join a network marketing company.

Photo by Corinne Kutz on Unsplash

Being a doctor is such a joy for me and an answer to prayers for my parents.

It is a joy because I get to help people and also be who my parents expect me to be. I love my job and I love the experience it brings.

But soon after 8 years of practice, I know I needed more, I wanted more. I desired more. So I began my search of what else can I do to quench the hunger, to assuage the feeling. to build and get more.

my quest led me to a couple of other businesses but the highest was the network marketing business.

When you want to sign up with a network marketing company, you do your diligence of researching about the company, asking questions, etc. I did all that. I spent over 4 years (which was too long and unnecessary) analyzing and researching. This is what I found out

You never get ALL the answers until you sign up: No matter how good you are with research, no matter how you ask the right questions, you will never get the full picture until you sign up. The view is so different when you are in it than when you are looking in. And there is no guarantee you will like the view when you join. So what you do is to start small and if you like the view, you go big.

It will change you only if you allow it to: People talk about how business improved their lives but they won’t tell you it only improved their lives because they allowed it to. If you fight the business, you will never grow. If you don’t embrace the challenges and the obstacles that come with it, you will never grow. If you don’t give yourself over to it, it won’t break you to make you but you have to be willing to get broken first.

You will never make 6 figures until after a minimum of 3 years: This is the biggest lie in the business. If you are looking at making money within 1 year of the business, not going to happen. If you want to truly grow in the business, and enjoy sustained wealth, you have to follow the process and be patient with it. Yes, you will be seeing the flash of wealth showcased everywhere but you will never have that until you have invested time and money in the business.

You will never make it as a product user: Network marketing is 20% of the network and 80% of the marketing. What you are marketing is the opportunity. This you market to your contacts and connections. Trying to make it just by buying the products won’t take you anywhere. You have to do the marketing and do it well.

All in all, I decided to become a network marketer. I leaped 2 years ago and I have not regretted it. The only regret I have is that it took me 4 years to finally say yes. And it has been a journey. I am 8 months off my 3rd anniversary and I am very optimistic that I will hit my 6 figure by then.

So if there is an opportunity you are considering, don’t wait too long to make the decision you need to make. Go in there, find out if its something you will like to do and then give it your best shot. You will never make it by just attempting. You have to be willing to give it your all.

Good luck!!

--

--