Boomerang Dreams

Short Story

Akshay Ravi
Published in
3 min readJun 26, 2020

--

Image by 愚木混株 Cdd20 from Pixabay

She kept looking at the bubble gum stuck to the ceiling, it missed the fan by a few inches. She looked at it long enough that her vision blurred, she had to blink her eyes twice to see perfectly again. She turned to her side and started looking at this big guy lying next to her, probably fully naked, but the sheets covered everything beyond his ‘transversus abdominis’. She thought it was weird for her to know that word, most people just know it as ‘V-Cut’ or the ‘Sex lines’. But she is a fitness freak and so is this big guy who laid next to her. She could not stop looking at his body and is probably one of the reasons why he was there next to her.

She again shifted and kept looking at the gum. This time even her thoughts blurred along with her vision.

“Kanna, how many times I have told you not to spit the gum on the walls?”

“But it is a game daddy. I am practising, so that I can win when I play with my friends during our su-su break”

“Last warning Kanna. I won’t buy you any more bubble gum if you continue spitting it into the walls. Also, it is not a real game, and definitely not…

--

--

Akshay Ravi
New North

I sometimes revisit my writings, and I am almost always disappointed. But if you still may, you will stumble upon mostly short fiction, technology otherwise