Do I Look Like I Have a Dog?

James Taylor Foreman
New North

--

Photo by Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

“Do I look like I have a dog?” barks a woman standing in her own threshold.

“Um,” says the neighbor, clutching at her cross necklace. “Well, yes. For example, your sweater is covered in dog hair.” She shuffles back a step on the doormat that reads, “Beware of dog.”

The woman bites her bottom lip. “I do not have a dog, OK? I never even had a Pug named Justice when I was little.” She clutches the doorknob, ready to slam.

“Look,” says the neighbor, “I don’t mean to upset you. It’s just that my husband is a surgeon and if he doesn’t sleep his hands get shaky.”

“Well, I hope you find out whose dog is barking!” she says. “Cause I don’t have an ‘effing dog, lady!” Behind her, a dog barks once. “Quiet, Charley!”

“What was that?”

“The TV.”

“You call your TV Charley?”

The women eye each other. “Look,” says the neighbor. “I host a church group on Wednesdays with all the other women in the neighborhood. Do you want to come?”

The woman squints. “I don’t know, are they all going to think that I have a dog because you’ve been spreading lies about me?”

“Um…” She clutches her necklace. “They might think you have a dog because of all the barking.”

--

--

James Taylor Foreman
New North

Reality is narrative and our only job is to make it beautiful. Subscribe to move me directly to your inbox --> https://www.taylorforeman.com/