Echoes

Vikrant Hatwalne
New North
2 min readAug 31, 2020

--

Photo by Tobias Bjørkli from Pexels

The speed of sound is ~340 m/s.
Do you remember that question template from school?
The one where they asked us to calculate the time,
in which you would hear an echo from a wall that was at a distance that was usually an exact multiple of 340 m away?
I remember that today as I stand by an echo point.
The reflecting surface is a rather stony cliff, that’s a perfect multiple of 340 m away.
So I yell at the top of my voice.
“I love you.”
and wait.
And wait wait wait…
But there’s no echo.
Something must be wrong.
I heard it the last time I was here.
When the air was more crisp.
Maybe today the air is out of breath.
Maybe the cliff is covered with moss that I can’t see because the cliff is so many multiples of 340 m away.
Maybe I’m just tired of screaming I love you to an inanimate object so far away.
Maybe echos are just not as much fun after the first time.
Maybe I need to stop yelling out ‘I love you’ to immovable moss coved monoliths that stand tall and bounce off sound waves when the weather is right.
Maybe I need to find more reasons to say, ‘I love you’, to myself.

--

--

Vikrant Hatwalne
New North

I write about things that amuse me, and things that dont amuse at all.