Touch

Mason Sigmon
New North
2 min readJul 23, 2018

--

I feel it in the way you place your hand on mine,

The interlocking of our fingers when we’re sitting in the theater,

The stroke of your hand when you brush it up

and down my back while we’re in bed.

I feel it when I cup your face in my hands

and gaze into each other’s eyes.

A sharp crisp jade is what i see when I look into yours’

and a soft serene is how you described mine.

I feel it in the way you nuzzle your nose into my hair,

breathing in the freshness of lavender and sage.

“My favorite”, you always tell me.

I wonder if I should change it but that might leave you heartbroken.

I feel it in the way when I lay my head on your chest,

The deep rhythmic heart beats, the rise and fall of your chest.

I carefully look up at you, so I won’t wake you with a sudden motion.

I see it in your face.

Softened and unstirred, your face shows a small smirk.

What you think about in your sleep

That may be one thing I’ll never know.

But that smirk, I think it might give me an idea.

I feel it too.

--

--