TRAPPED

suraj powdel
New North
2 min readMar 25, 2017

--

The alarm clock slips like

The sand in the hourglass

Listen to the count and feel as if it’s grasped

But what really slips might

Be an hour that has already passed

Flick of more hours and a day goes by my sight

End is my routine when I am off to lay

With my drowsy eyes again like a prey

Eaten up by the so called

24 hours day

Why do I have to sleep?

Why do I have to wake up again?

Like it is a cycle

I choose not to stay

I woke up back there on mama’s lap

As if dependency had sworn to slap

From infant to childhood

From adulthood to being old

Once upon my parents

Once for my parents

And once waiting for death

So am I trapped?

In a world of obligation

Obligation to depend

Obligation to survive

Maybe obligation to die

Or in a body which needs to excrete

And bath for its flavour

It feels like a prey reverberating in its cave

On a hilly terrain afraid to pop out

From the cave’s open space

To dive into another well

Where living dead awaits

Free from obliged fate

Where the rest will dig a six feet land

Or burn my body to ashes and not me

Wishing I would reach the firmament

But what if this is all a dream

And I wake up after death

Like René Descartes presumed

And then there is technology

That has made surviving easier

Is it a paradox?

For how u feel

When the lights go off

When the internet goes down

When the phone battery is low

When the bustling city you know

Hears you no more

Hence i am skeptical about life

When every day is just about

How to survive

It is just another hamster wheel

For maybe we are being watched by

Someone who is a greater being

Than we are today

Experimenting about how we react

In the four different seasons

As part of the 365 day stage

So yes we are trapped

Into the theatre inside a play

Into the circumstances

Into the people’s circle

Maybe among us

Maybe within you.

find spoken word @ youtube

If you liked what you just read, be sure to give it a heart so someone else might bump into it. Follow the author or Misplaced Identity below to see more posts like this one.

Also, Facebook.

--

--