Queen Gigi
New North
Published in
2 min readJun 18, 2020

--

Why Live if I Can’t Be Free

Photo by Rod Long on Unsplash

Liberty is worth more than death. Sounds harsh, doesn’t it? That’s because the Truth, is always harsh.

Why live, if I can’t kiss the people I love, can no longer hold them, hug my mother, my sister, or my friends...

Why live if I can’t feel the moisty grass, or the hot sand that burns my bare feet, the sunshine that tans my skin, the waves hitting my body, the sea breeze tangling my hair or the rain to shower with my daughters as we play.

Why live if I can’t dance slowly and tight with my lover, enjoy my loved one’s company while we listen to music, celebrate my best friend’s birthday on a Sunday BBQ, nor can I go out with my friends on a brunch date to have a cup of coffee or some wine.

Why live if I can’t attend my favorite artist’s concert or my second cousin’s wedding, jump from excitement when I see my younger daughter scoring a touchdown, nor can I cherish proudly when I see my oldest girl acting in one of her theater plays.

Why live if I can not appreciate elderly people seating on the park’s bench, kids piled up on the school’s entrance after classes, running and smiling or playing on the street where you can here them laugh.

Why live if I can’t see my neighbor’s, the bank’s receptionist’s, the waitress’, the manicurist’s, or the guy that helps me carry the bags at the market’s face…. even when I can see their soul reflected on their eyes, I can’t see the smile that comes from their heart.

Why live, if I can’t fight for my family’s support, for my children’s food. Having to survive out of people’s solidarity, having to wait for weeks, and even plead for a promised sustent that may or may not arrive.

Why Live, if I have to be part of a skeptic flock that refuses to see the evident truth that stands before their eyes, hiding and covering behind the curtain of their fears, as strangers to our true human nature.

Why live, if I will be treated as a conscious-less lamb, manipulated and driven by a conjectured oligarchy’s whip disguised as democracy.

Why live in a world where kindness, love, ethics and morals are on the path to abrogation and where prerogative will be reserved for a selected group of people, while the rest of us, mouth covered, are unable to speak our truth, blocked by alleged power and the freedom we have inherited by divine order.

Why live in a world where living, is being taken away from us.

Originally written in Spanish by my mother, Audrey Barrios, translated to English by me.

@itsqueengg

--

--

Queen Gigi
New North

24. An artist that’s constantly looking for a muse. I’m not sure if writing is my day or night job. I published a poetry collection but it’s in Spanish.