Woman Enough….

Vishakha Nilakhe
New North
2 min readDec 3, 2018

--

https://www.pexels.com/photo/three-women-wearing-turbands-1038041/

Girls walk gracefully; Girls close their legs while sitting. Girls don’t laugh out loud in public; Girls are soft and petite.

You need to talk like a girl, dress like a girl. You are tall, healthy, don’t look feminine enough. You are not a girl.

You should be aware of your body, never attract much attention. Grow out your hair to make your face look softer. So, one day you will be woman enough.

Let clothes hide your body; cover your deformity.

But if you want to show your body, make sure you have it toned enough. But then, if you are plus-sized you can become a model enough.

Pin-up girls to size zero, every era predefined a look to be woman enough.

Today, flat abs and a round ass makes you fit enough; Plus-size and a middle figure makes you strong enough.

You can run marathons, climb mountains or bend your body in uncomfortable poses. Still, you are not woman enough because you can’t bounce a penny off your ass.

You can have high cholesterol; an endangered heart but with the right attitude, you can flaunt your fats.

My arms jiggle and thighs touch; My laugh’s loud and shoulders broad. I sit with my legs spread and cuss with no holds barred. Yet, I sweat on the mat and strut around in a skirt.

I won’t let a dress size define me, nor let a dress size fool me. Because I know a healthy body and a strong mind is what makes me The Woman, enough.

Even though I don’t fit in your ideal body moulds or misguided roles. I am a woman enough because I am unconventional enough.

--

--

Vishakha Nilakhe
New North

I write to clear my thoughts and publish to overcome my fears | A wannabe writer |