Does The Devil Beat His Wife?

Tracking The Myth

'bumpyjonas…
thenext100
Published in
2 min readJan 4, 2022

--

Pixie Photo — No attribute required

“It's nonsense, I tell you. This idea of the devil beating his wife. The sun is out, and it is raining and that means the devil is beating his wife? The devil isn’t married. Who in the fuck would marry the devil for one thing? And even if someone did marry the devil, the person wouldn’t get beaten. The devil doesn’t care that much. The devil is not some insecure prick. He’s the devil. The idea of the devil beating his wife is almost as bad as people saying when there is a thunderstorm, cut off all the lights. Like the house is going to get struck by lightning. That will never happen. It has never happened.”

“Will you shut up? Every time we go out, every time, I mean, you start in on this philosophical shit from your childhood. I am trying to enjoy my drink, eat my burger, and you are over here talking about the devil. You don’t even believe in God, how in the hell are you going to believe in the devil. I know the devil is real, man. I seen him. When I was like 7 years old, these dogs was chasing us in the rain. The devil sent them dogs. But we prayed. Me and my brothers. We ran onto a porch and prayed and them dogs turned around like God told them to.”

“Are you done?”

“Yea, I'm done. Are you done?”

--

--

'bumpyjonas…
thenext100

word scratcher, baller...shot caller, born in a city made of chocolate.