Sojourner Truth’s ‘Ain’t I A Woman?’

Her Famous Speech Is Timeless and Timely

'bumpyjonas…
thenext100
Published in
3 min readFeb 24, 2021

--

Credit: Sojourner Truth School

When I began working in the Midwest, I made it a goal to go pay my respects to Sojourner Truth, who died in Battle Creek, Michigan, in 1883 and is buried there.

I didn’t work far from Battle Creek so I knew it could happen. Truth is not a forgotten historical figure but she is oftentimes downplayed in the details.

According to the Pomeroy Foundation, “Sojourner Truth was born an enslaved person near Kingston, N.Y. Her given name was Isabella; she is often referred to as Isabella Baumfree. Having been promised by her owner, John Dumont, to be freed a year before abolition took effect in New York State, she was infuriated when he refused to honor his promise.

She fled with her infant daughter in 1826, but later claimed “I did not run off, for I thought that wicked, but I walked off, believing that to be all right.” Hence the name, her “Walk to Freedom.” She followed a road through Ulster County, New York, finding refuge in Esopus. She eventually found her way to New York City, converted to being a Methodist and delivered fiery speeches in support of women’s rights and the abolitionist movement across the free states.”

Her life and legacy is not much different in purpose than Frederick Douglass though Douglass, we…

--

--

'bumpyjonas…
thenext100

word scratcher, baller...shot caller, born in a city made of chocolate.