A Foodie’s Paradise

Caleb Lines
TheNextNorm
Published in
5 min readJul 25, 2019

If you asked a Taiwanese citizen about what their favorite aspect their vibrant culture is, odds are they will start talking about the delectable cuisine available almost everywhere you go. I couldn’t agree more, as the food I have had the opportunity to indulge myself with has been some of the best food I have ever eaten. When visiting Taiwan, it won’t be long before you find yourself wandering into one of the countless markets available anywhere you go. These markets range from night markets, afternoon markets, mango markets, vegetable markets, and traditional markets to name a few, and more often than not, food is the main attraction at these events.

The hustle and bustle of these typically-packed markets is for good reason. Everyone wants to ensure a place in line for their favorite foods, and I was ready to hop right into line with them. I would not classify myself as an especially “picky” eater before coming to Taiwan, but I was not the most adventurous either (often having a go-to item at every frequented restaurant that I rarely strayed from). However, I did not hold back when faced with foods I would have turned up my nose to in the past, having the opportunity to try countless foods I had never even heard of before. Needless to say there weren’t many foods I encountered that I did not immediately fall in love with. Even when trying something as infamous to foreigners as stinky tofu, I seemed to develop a special taste for the snack.

To try all of the famous foods in Taiwan, a trip to a Taiwanese night market is almost guaranteed. The bright lights of these markets are accentuated by the shoulder-to-shoulder crowds. Every new food stand is accompanied by a unique scent, which draws in customers passing by. The on-site preparation of the food is hypnotizing, and the colorful and playful designs of the food enhances the experience. However, nothing can compare to the first bite taken of each new food, each taste differing significantly from the last. It is easy to get carried away in the midst of so much fun and flavor, and I often wound up trying to balance multiple items from every single food stand I passed by. The most challenging part of it all was trying to avoid the temptation of quickly choking down the food I was holding just to buy something else that caught my eye.

In addition to the unforgettable food Taiwan has to offer, it is nearly impossible to visit Taiwan without drinking tea. Being the place of origin of bubble tea, there is typically at least one or more bubble tea shop on every single block in every single city in Taiwan. I was not able to go three hours in the city without visiting a tea shop to get my fill. It is astonishing how many types of tea exist, each one different from the last, and I don’t think I would have had the ability to try every single kind even if I wanted to.

The cuisine of Taiwan is just as flavorful as the vibrant culture to which it belongs, and the people who call Taiwan home are always willing to share what is held dear to their hearts. This openness made my Taiwanese experience all the more meaningful and definitely gave me plenty to write home about. In short, Taiwan is a foodie’s paradise and isn’t afraid to share its true culture with the world.

--

--

Caleb Lines
TheNextNorm

2019 Borlaug Ruan Internation Intern @ the ARVDC in Taiwan — Complacency represses discovery