An open letter to a future Borlaug-Ruan Intern

Stefany Naranjo
TheNextNorm
Published in
3 min readSep 8, 2019

Dear future Borlaug-Ruan Intern,

You are in for the adventure of a lifetime. This summer will be fulfilled with some of the craziest explorations that you have ever been on! As my days as an intern wind down, I sit back to reflect on the time I have spent here in Lima at the International Potato Center and have a few words of advice for you.

1 Say yes. Yes to at least trying all of the unique foods of your country. While you may not enjoy the taste of all of it, I can assure you that you will come out with a greater experience from having had a taste of the local cuisine. When someone share’s their favorite home-cooked dish with you and you end up really enjoying it is unforgettable. That exchange of wanting to share a piece of themselves with you is priceless.

2Go on an exploration. Don’t be afraid to go out and see the wonderful, unique, and historic landscapes of your country. Each culture is so rich and unparalleled to any other experience that you will have had before this time. So grab a colleague [aka new friends :)] and take to local markets or in my case the ocean! Learn a new skill, whether it be a new dance style or a new recipe because these are things that you will cherish and bring home with you.

3 Come up for air. Often times, interns have early mornings and long nights and let's just say the days fly by very quickly. You do so much each week and it can lead to a very jumbled mind. So, find something that grounds you and gives you time to reflect on this incredible experience. I personally have found that journaling all of my thoughts or my experiences helps me regroup at the end of the week.

4 Be ready to learn. I can guarantee you that everyone at your institution or research center will welcome you with open arms. Make sure to make the most of this experience and connect with these new people. They have so much to offer you and you will learn a lot from each one of them. I am grateful to have learned not only about science and how to tackle food insecurity but to have also have learned life lessons that have changed my outlook.

This summer will be one to remember. The Borlaug-Ruan internship offers a once in a lifetime opportunity that allows you to grow in more ways than you can imagine. You will come home with many memories that I will be with you for a lifetime. My experience has shown me how much hard work is going into tackling food insecurity and I am beyond grateful for everyone who has helped me along the way and has supported me on this great adventure.

¡Hasta Luego!

~Stefany

--

--

Stefany Naranjo
TheNextNorm

2019 Borlaug-Ruan International Intern | International Potato Center CIP | Iowa State University