Renee Piekema
TheNextNorm
Published in
3 min readAug 8, 2019

--

Asante Sana- Thank You

As I ran across the finish line to my Internship, and took my first steps into the Des Moines International Airport my heart felt at ease. My family was there to greet me and I hugged each one of them with a whole new perspective on what they meant to me. As we left the airport, I got into my car, my old beat up Ford 500. Oh how I missed my big balloon, it’s the smoothest ride! I drove and began to look back at the past two months. I thought about what Kenya had been like and everything I learned. This Internship was so much more to me than just research. It was experiencing a new culture, it was experiencing being a minority, it was making new friends while struggling with communication, but just importantly; it was the first opportunity I had to live on my own and prove to myself that I could be an adult. A responsible one at that! Yes, I might have been thrown into the deep end of the pool, but thanks to my parents I was ready for the challenge.

Throughout my internship I have come to an understanding on how important it is to travel internationally to experience new cultures and different perspectives. I want to take the time to thank the people who helped and supported me through this life changing adventure. These people were essential for a smooth transition into Kenya. Thank you to my family for being supportive since day one. Thank you to my parents who have raised me to be motivated and hard working, and thank you to my grandparents who taught me to be passionate and strong-willed. Thank you to my younger siblings Tristan, Brooke, Alaiyah, Abigail, Nicholas and Alianna for teaching me the importance of leadership through trial and error. And to the rest of my family, thank you for always being there and cheering me on from the sidelines, it truly has helped push through barriers!!!

Thank you to the World Food Prize Organization for giving me this amazing opportunity to explore the agriculture industry. Thank you to Dr. Norman Borlaug and John Ruan for creating this life changing Program. Thank you Ambassador Quinn for the 23 years of time and dedication to the World Food Prize.

Thank you to the International Centre of Insect Physiology and Ecology (ICIPE) for giving me an opportunity to learn from impressive scientist and researchers striving to improve the livelihoods for people in Africa.

Thank you to the Whitebreast 4-H chapter and Waukee FFA for supporting me through this experience as well.

Thank you to Ms. Cindy Snell, my animal science high school teacher, for always challenging me to strive and the amazing support she has provided. You are role model I will always look up to.

Lastly, thank you to all the farmers that took time out of their day to respond to my questionnaires and giving Morgan and I tours of their farms.

Asante Sana,

Renee Piekema

--

--